Cheesy Zucchini Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Made some significant changes, which turned this recipe into a keeper. NINE zucchini??? I used two medium zucchini. Do not peel them, (that's where all the nutrition and color are), but just slice. Use 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup, and stir-fry the veggies in the butter rather than boil them, (again, to retain flavor, color, and nutrition). Four eggs instead of three. Rather than the cracker topping, I used my own whole wheat bread crumbs, with a bit of Italian seasoning added to them. Delicious! Oh yes...only bake 35 minutes. Left-overs are fabulous. I think this would also work well if you wanted to make double and freeze one to bake at a future time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I changed this up a little as well. You can't possibly use 9 zucchinis unless they are small 'pickle' sized zucchinis. We used 4 medium to large ones and instead of slicing, I diced to about 1/2 thick. I used 4 eggs instead of 3, added 2 tablespoons of milk to the beaten eggs, and used a half of a cup more cheese. I crushed the crackers and used a little bit less than 1/4 cup of melted butter to give them a good crumbly texture. Added some Mrs. Dash to the mixture and baked as per the recipe. Served with a wedge of iceberg lettuce with light ranch dressing drizzled on top (and tomatoes if desired). Was a hit with my family! Even my picky daughter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I altered this recipe a bit. I used boxed chicken flavored stuffing mix (the kind with the flavoring already in the bread crumbs) and used about 3/4 stick of butter to drizzle over the stuffing mix. I added garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used 3 cups of zucchini and added black pepper (to taste) It's very yummy and my 7 year old even cleaned his plate. Nice variation to the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was awesome! I made a few mods, as others did- I only used one very large zucchini (there are just two of us), and I steamed the veggies instead of boiling. I used 2 eggs, and added about 3 tablespoons of cream, but only about 1 tablespoon of butter. I only had saltines, so I crushed those up and added shredded Parmesan to them- made a delicious, crispy, cheesy topping! Will definitely make again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gunsan, Cholla-Bukto, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I really loved this!! Ok, i am a born fiddler so we did some different things, 4 eggs not 3, a few red pepper flakes and a bit of broccoli i had left over and some diced ham.. you know a cleaning out the fridge thing.. It was a HUGE hit! I also used bread crumbs on top, not crackers - you use what you have on hand.. but this will appear again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
if you use 9 Zucchini they had better be small to medium size This was really good and my family loved it. Meanestjean In Connecticut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
ok, I'm not sure how the recipe would have been as it is written, but I read the other reviews and sauted the zucchini first, added in some frozen corn, and a layer of sliced fresh tomatoes and then sprinkled the whole thing with extra chopped garlic, red pepper flakes, and parm cheese.... and it is absolutely delish! I only needed to bake it for 45 minutes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I have made this two times and always get compliments for it. I add Emeril's Essence (individual packets, about 1 1/2 packets worth) to the recipe to give more flavor. Very easy to fix. I agree about the zucchini size...they need to be small to medium-size zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I cut the recipe in half and used 2 zucchinis...added some Fontina cheese too for extra tastiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I followed the recipe as is & everyone loved it. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Hickcox Cyr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Springs, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States