Cheesy Vegetable Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Awesome! My mother-in-law said it was the best soup she ever had in her mouth! Thanks to allrecipes.com she thinks I'm amazing. Also handed out the recipe at work. If you're willing to use a LOT of extra cheese, you could easily omit the cheese soup and add a bit more flour, make a rue and add milk, once bubbling, add cheese. Never thought to put mushrooms in veggie soup before, but it makes an awesome flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
i have lots of mixed feelings about this recipe. As is, it's pretty bland. I would much prefer a roux-based soup, but went with this tonight based on ingredients and ease of prep, and my endless quest to try new things. Changes that might amp up the flavor would include dissovling some bouillon cubes in the simmering milk mixture? My kids actually devoured this, a near miracle, but i suspect it's because the cheese soup offered that "fake orange cheese" flavor they seem to love so much! however, with so many roux-based cheesy vegetable chowder soups on this site, i think they're a much better bet. in a pinch this could work, but the results are so-so at best. going homemade and taking the extra five minutes is going to be worth it in this case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was really bland. Made it exact and will NOT make again. Spent the whole time eating it going back over the recipe wondering what I did wrong. My boyfriend and I ate it anyway because it made so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was a little bland. would add more spices next time. My college kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This soup was amazing!!! I love making something that is vegetarian, that the whole family liked! will be making this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KMACAULEY
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a yummy recipe. Instead of condensed cream of cheddar soup (which was expensive) I made my own roux using butter, flour, milk and cheddar cheese. I left out the additional flour called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was really easy and very good. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Excellent! My favorite recipe on here so far. The onions and mushrooms make a surprisingly flavorful base. I substituted one bag of mixed frozen vegetables for the fresh veggies, and halved the milk and cheese soup concentrate for an even heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavysyrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Super delicious soup! very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Wonderful soup! I followed Suzamma's advice with the flour. (I mixed it with some of the milk.) It worked great. I also added some Basil. This recipe is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States