Cheesy Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Sooo good. Excellent comfort food. We've made this a few times and will continue to do so, we love this so much. We just get that frozen bag of veggies and use that. It doesn't take long to make either. So glad we found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Good soup, with some alterations. I finely chopped onion, carrots and some celery in half the butter with some olive oil, then added 2-3 cloves fresh garlic. I then added the flour to make a roux, slowly adding broth. I reduced broth by 1 cup and added a cup of beer. After adding brocolli and cauliflower, allowing them to cook til tender, I used my immersion blender to smooth, leaving some chunks. I also cut the half n half with regular milk as others suggested. Added fresh thyme, freshly ground nutmeg, and pepper to taste. Served at a church potluck with many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I enjoyed this soup very much. It was easy to make. I didn't have any half n half so I used heavy whipping cream with a little added water so it wouldn't be to thick. I also had to use a chicken soup base powder as I was out of the chicken bouillon. The soup taste a lot like a chicken pot pie so after I had a bowl for lunch, I added peas and leftover chicken. It's like comfort in a bowl, I can hardly wait to have more. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I love this recipe!! It is to die for with french fried onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This soup was OK, but I think it had WAY TOO MUCH butter. I would cut the butter by at least half next time. I also would just use 2% milk instead of the half and half. It just had a very greasy taste that I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This soup was great and just what I was looking for flavor-wise. Pretty easy to throw together, too! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
this is really good. made it for lunch and there was none left by the time that everyone got done. they were licking their bowls so you know it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Although the taste was good and I liked the idea of using non-processed cheese, I found it too rich and heavy. I think you could easily cut down on the butter and I used 1/2 milk and the rest half and half. You must follow the recipe's instructions in order or you end up with a buttery top to your soup (I boiled all veggies in the bouillon instead of in the thick sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is the best soup I've ever eaten! I didn't have half and half, so I used a mixture of evaporated milk (no fat), whole milk, and heavy cream to make the 2 cups of milk. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and would make it the same way again. It was fabulous, and will become one of the main meals in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arizona City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My husband and I have been looking for a recipe that was simular to a soup we had eaten before. This is by far the closest and best Cheesey Veggie Soup we have ever had! I did however I used 1/4 cup butter instead of a full 1/2 cup. We will be having this often! YUMMMMMMMMM! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States