Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This recipe was ok. I had to omit the onion and green pepper (food allergy), so it was a touch on the bland side. It could have used WAY more cheese, hardly a cheesy flavor at all. The spinich mixture turned out ok, but could have been a lot better with alfredo sauce. The veggies did alright, but they were still a little firm. Didn't seem like it heated all the way through in the oven, but cheese on top was almost burnt. Probably won't do again, but made an ok meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This recipe was outstanding. I did modify it a bit. I used part skim dairy products. My husband loved it as well. It was actually better the next day or so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I did not have the cottage cheese or zucchini. But I use one red and one green pepper, and this recipes was to die for. My husband and 15 month old both scarfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdove

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was awesome. I made this for a dinner party, I took some of the suggestions from other members and spiced it up. But to reduce the fat, I used no fat half/half and low fat mozzarella. It was delish, I have no idea why this recipe was tagged as bland. Even my 12yr old picky eater loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe although time consuming was great. You can always do the prep in advance so all the veggies are cut. I used red pepper instead of green and omitted the carrot. I agree with other users that some spices like oregano, basil, etc would be a good idea but I still loved it and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob Loblaw
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Great recipe, benefitted by some spice! I compiled many of the suggestions here and came up with a version that I think tastes great. 1. I cook the zucchini separately from the rest of the veggies so they can have their own layer in the lasagna. 2. I heavily seasoned all the veggies with several big shakes of basil and oregano, salt (several large pinches), pepper and garlic. I added ~5 cloves to kick it up. I also threw in a few shakes of crushed red pepper. 3. I added garlic powder to the white/parmesan sauce. Butter would richen it up, but I wanted to try to keep it somewhat healthy. 4. I added some tomato slices to the top of the pile, then smothered it in mozz + parm cheese. It adds a nice flavor, and is a nice visual touch in my opinion... 5. I cook mine for about 45-50 minutes, uncovered, in order for the top to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
452 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We really like this. I'm a vegetarian and it's nice to have a lasagna option that isn't just cheese. I didn't feel like the amount of vegetables was too much at all. I did substitute a red pepper for the green because I love them, and I added some Italian seasoning while sauteing the vegetables. I also topped the lasagna with diced tomatoes for the flavor. I would recommend a little more salt in the sauce. All in all, we loved this and we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was labor intensive but worthwhile. Loved the veggies in it and it made enough for us to freeze some for later. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and add almost a stick of butter to the sauce while it was thickening. Very good recipe. Very cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
my favorite meal ever. it's the best a lot of prep but it's so worth it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
really good recipe. make sure when cooking vegetables to add your own spices (i used a ton of oregano, basil, garlic powder). You don't need to use whole cloves of garlic, I used the minced garlic in the fridge. This recipe is really good for getting rid of veggies in the fridge that are turning. Add a lot of salt, more than you think you need. Take everyone's advice and use some spaghetti sauce before putting on the cheese. Takes a lot of time and tweaking, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States