Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Very tasty. I was making this for a vegetarian friend of mine laid up after surgery. I knew she was ok with cheese but wasn't sure about milk, and further I only use soy or almond milk at home, so I substituted the soy milk. I used 4 generous cups of FRESH spinach added at the end of the cooking of the sauce and allowed it to wilt off the heat. This way it didnt have a mushy factor to it from frozen. I used 2-3 cups fresh store sliced portabella mushrooms. NO bell pepper, the flavor over powers the other veggies. Cut prep time with store julienne cut fresh carrots and packaged fresh pre-cut broccoli florettes. (A bit more pricey) Less onion and about 1 TBS roasted garlic in olive oil. I used PLENTY of the called for veggies cut in big chunky pieces, without precise measuring, and pare- cooked them covered after they were sauteed, so this took more then the stated 7 minutes. Also make sure you use your largest possible pan, so you don't slash out while turning. No bake noodles cut off the boil time for the lasagna noodles. Cooked at lower temp 325, for 50-60 mins which prevented the over drying covered with foil. When I make it the next time I will use cauliflower as well and make double the milk flour spinach sauce but I don't feel the butter and sour cream are needed to keep it somewhat healthy. Also will probably use more of all the cheeses and the red pepper flakes and more of the roasted garlic. Serve red sauce on the side for fans of red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justjerp TWs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
So I loved this recipe, knew from all the reviews I would be doctoring it up. To the ricotta cheese mixture, I added chopped fresh flat leaf parsley, one egg and garlic powder. To the vegetable mixture I used 5 cloves of garlic, and a 1/2 tsp fresh chopped rosemary. What's a white rue without butter...just 2 tblsp. Everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very good! A friend requested a veggie lasagna for her birthday dinner and she loved it. I fell back on my time-tested lasagna recipe for the cheeses and creamed together the ricotta and cottage cheese with about a third of a wedge of fresh Parmesan and a third of a wedge of Romano, crumbled in the food processor, along with several cloves of garlic and a bit of fresh basil. I add an egg, blend well, and let that rest in the fridge overnight. It's well worth it. I left the spinach out of the cheese mixture and added it tot he sauted veg just at the end. I also added some provolone to the mozzarella. Any time I make lasagna, I also make the sauce ahead and let it rest in the fridge overnight, as well. That trick, and using fresh herbs, and lots of great Italian cheeses, makes any lasagna better. Plus, you've really only got to put it together on baking day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I loved it. I didn't make any recipe changes although I might try adding cream of celery to the ricotta next time as someone else has suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this tonight and followed the directions ,failing to read reviews. I liked it BUT PLEASE DRAIN THE VEGGIE MIX or it will be watery. Overall I liked it. You can add more spices but I enjoyed tasting the flavors from each vegetable hence a vegetable lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was delicious. I used low fat dairy and added a broccoli and red pepper chili flakes! Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Made this yesterday. It was really good, but brought it to work today for lunch and it is even better!!! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe that gives alot of room to flavor to your liking. This gave me the basic steps to prepare a vegetable lasagna. The changes I made: used whole wheat 1-ingredient lasagna noodles. Swapped the broccoli and carrots and instead used 1 large bag of frozen california medley. I salt and peppered each step of the way. I used 2 C. Skim milk and 1 C. Heavy cream in the sauce. I did 2 layers as stated, but added a third layer on top and poured a bag of frozen organic home made tomato pasta sauce (probably was about 1 1/2 C.) and then topped with the mozarella. Excellent! I only took one star away because I feel without the changes this would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
needs creamier parm sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anders Welinder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was really good. Cannot remember all the veggies I used since I was trying to use up some items from my CSA basket, but the sauce was good, and that is what makes a good vegetable lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States