Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is a good recipe-love this! I took advice from many other reviews: in particular, 1. heavily season the veggies to your liking. 2. The cream sauce (flour, milk and parmesan) I definitely added butter and seasoning. I skipped the zucchini, though next time I probably will add it, to make it heartier. 3. I over food-processed the veggies, too dicey for my liking. 4. I also added a layer of tomato slices-goes really well with this dish, takes some of the cheese edge off. 5. For some reason, I only needed 8 noodles: my pan allowed for 2 complete layers (a smaller but deeper pan, I guess). 6. A note for the sauce: I didn't find it "dry" or not enough like many noted. In fact, I used 2 cups of milk vs 3 and was fine. I may actually use less because the sauce is a little watery for my liking. I bought a can of cream of celery but the recipe wasn't clear whether this shouldve replaced the spinach mixture, so I skipped it. Great recipe, will spruce up next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I loved this recipe. I used fresh boiled spinach instead of frozen (about 1/4 uncooked), reduced fat cheeses, added basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, salt, and pepper to the vegetables, and sliced tomatoes to the top (above the spinach mixture but under the cheese). I didn't find it too dry, either. A really excellent and yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This lasagna was SO GOOD! My boyfriend's mom doesn't like meat so I made this for her and she loved it. My boyfriend doesn't like veggies and he loved it too! Works for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent alternative to your usual lasagna and so easy to make. I like to use whole wheat pasta. I soak the pasta for 20mins in hot water then drain water and pat pasta dry with paper towels before using in recipe. Leaves the pasta soft but not too soft is tears when handling. Also I added baby bella mushrooms to give it a meaty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I added extra onion by using two medium onions and doubled the garlic. I also added a whole red pepper and didn't use the cottage cheese - just used dollops of riccota. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this cheesy veggie lasagna today for 12 people for after church lunch. It was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe. I sauteed the veggies with generous amounts of mediterranian basil leaves and oregano and some salt and pepper. For the spinach mix I added some sour cream and butter as one reviewer mentioned. The spinach mix is delicious and would be a great hot dip with tortilla chips by itself. I highy recommend the sour cream and butter. It makes it very creamy that way. I also used a little bit extra flour to make the mixture thicker. I ommited the red peppers because I don't really like them. This recipe is wonderful and everyone raved about it. My sister and mom both asked for the recipe! I will be making this many more times in the future. If you plan on trying out this recipe be sure to season the veggies. I'm not sure why they didn't add that to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabys2908
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
was very easy to make and tastes delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabys2908

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
My household ate this for a day, then threw it out when I was not looking. The vegetables take on a bland taste, losing their flavor when cooking, and there is very little lingering aroma or flavor. We added lime juice and cilantro to attempt to spice it up for leftovers, but the watery consistency and lack of pizazz was unable to be overcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was really not a fan of this. I found it to be watery and tasteless. I ate a few bites and threw the entire pan away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States