Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was really good. Cannot remember all the veggies I used since I was trying to use up some items from my CSA basket, but the sauce was good, and that is what makes a good vegetable lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I made a few changes. I didn't use the peppers instead I added carrots, yellow squash and mushrooms all sliced on a mandolin. Sautéed all separately and added ground rosemary instead of other seasonings, all I had. I used whole wheat noodles and didn't boil them. After layering everything, including the ricotta and mozzarella cheeses, I added water that was about half way up the lasagna. I then sealed the pan with aluminum foil and baked for 50 minutes. Removed the foil and baked another 15 minutes. Absolutely delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
The 35 minute prep time was designed for a Rachel Ray type kitchen set up with TV magic, and all ingredients already in their recipe ready form. Just the chopping, slicing, peeling etc. cost about 25 minutes. Prepping the sauce, and other elements took an additional 30 minutes just to be at the point of being able to lay mixture and noodles in the pan. That sauce portion was epically low, allowing for only one good layer on the bottom, and a skimpy layer on top. If I were going to make it again I would triple it. the recipe called for a 1/2 Cup of mixture on the bottom of a pan. It actually took 2 Cups to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Baltosser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I skipped the whole milk and flour thing and just used 2 jars of store bought alfredo sauce and added the frozen spinach and parmeson to it. I also spiced up the veggies a bit with italian spices and salt and pepper, and basically covered the whole thing with parmeson and mozzarella that browned really nicely on top. Overall it turned out well but we didn't really feel the ricotta was that great, maybe I used the wrong kind, it was chewy and tasteless. But the other flavours made up for it, I'll just look to see what different types of ricotta there are next time, or maybe add salt to it, or just use more cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikii Niiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I really did not care for this. If there had been a spicier tastier cheese sauce, it would have improved it. Also, it took me waaaaayyyyyyy longer than the 35 minutes it says it will take to fix it. It was more like an hour and 15 minutes, and it was only done in 1:15 because I was basically racing at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Excellent with a few of the members suggestions :) I live alone and have to eat the whole thing, so I wanted to be sure this had enough flavor. In the end, the alterations were these: 1.) Generous minced garlic (I buy it in the jar but it may have been equal to five or six cloves). Oregano, basil, crushed red pepper on the veggies. 2.) No zucchini, (store didn't have any) 3.) Small onion, not large. 4.) Added an uncooked tomato mixed with a couple more cloves of garlic and basil leaves with a dash of oregano. 5.) Added 4-6 oz. of sour cream to the flour mixture. Melted 4 tablespoons of butter in the pan before adding flour. 6.) Really generous with parmesan, (maybe 3/4 of a cup in the sauce and half on top), but also did not skimp on other cheeses. 7. Buttered the noodles and drizzled melted butter on top of the casserole, sprinkled the top with basil. Sounds like a lot of extra flavor but I'm guessing the lasagna needed it since it tastes perfect. Very happy and I will easily eat the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious!!!! I made this recipe with a few variations: Used aspargus in place of carrots used red bell peppers instead of green grilled veggies instead of sauteeing made the sauce with butter (cooked the garlic and onion in the butter first)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This lasagna took a LOT longer to prep than stated, but I was impressed with the taste after reading some reviews that it was bland. However, I did not like the spinach mixture and wouldn't include it next time, even though I love spinach. Also, not sure why the recipe calls for 12 noodles, I only used 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Not too bad. Definitely needed more spice; I added dried oregano and basil to the veggie mixture. I omitted the carrots and exchanged one green bell for a red bell to be the sweet veggie. I sauteed the onions first in butter and olive oil, then added the rest of the veggies. I really liked the cream sauce with the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this recipe last week and made several notes to myself as I was making this. I noticed that there were absolutely no spices added to this at all except for salt and pepper. With every layer I added a sprinkling of Italian Seasongs, otherwise this would've been a very boring tasteless lasagna. I made this for pot luck and was very disappointed in the flavor, it was very weak in flavor. Folks were pouring on the salt and garlic salt. I used leaf spinach instead of frozen and it makes for a prettier presentation and takes the whole unthawing of the spinach out of the equation. I also added sliced mushrooms, which was a great improvement. I would say overall that I added at least a total a Tablespoon or 2 of Italian seasoning and it still need more, so when making this, keep the idea of adding more spices to this recipe. I also added an egg to the cheese mixture to help keep it together, which really helps. I also think that adding maybe a half block of cream cheese might be good as well. I'd like to hear from others about adding spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States