Cheesy Turnips and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Yummy. Kids loved. I did omit the celery because I forgot it at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I really don't like turnips and neither does anyone in my family, but we had them in our CSA and a friend had recommended this recipe. This was really good. It was almost like cheesy potato soup. There was none of the bitterness you usually have with turnips. If you are looking to mask the taste of the turnips, this is the recipe for you! I used fat free half and half for part of the milk and I used vegetable stock instead of reserving the cooking liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I got turnips from my neighbor and found this recipe. I had all the ingredients except had baby carrots instead regular carrots. Hubby just loved and would not change anything. Blanched and froze the remaining turnips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is even better if you make it and then store it in the refrigerator over night. All the bitterness disappears but you still get the interesting, rich taste of the turnip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very good recipe! I didn't use as much cheese as it calls for and it tastes yummy!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent combination of ingredients. My hubby and I loved this recipe. The one modification I made was that I used a mild baby swiss cheese (because I had it here) instead of the cheddar. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
We loved it! I added 1/2 tsp paprika and 1 Tbsp dried parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita C. Landry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Castle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is so good.... However I increased the amount and came to the conclusion that this would be a great soup by increasing the veggie stock from cooking the turnips and carrots. My 5 year old picky eating son loved it.. So good I didn't really taste the ginger. This will be a weekly go to soups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I had a bunch of CSA veggies that included carrots, turnips, kale, chard and cabbage....I threw it all in and served it over brown rice. It was delish! On top of that my 6 year old and 2 year old ate all their veggies which isn't always easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I added some garlic in while I sauteed the onions and dropped the celery altogether - no on in my familhy likes celery. In the future, I will put in more turnips and carrots since the finished product was a little more "saucey" than my personal preference. Everyone really liked the dish at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States