Cheesy Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My family really liked these. I'm not a big tuna fan, but I was surprised how well these turned out with such little effort. I did add some sweet relish and replaced the salt with Mrs. Dash Original Blend. I also used Monterey Jack .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
hubby and i loved it for a quick treat after having a million tuna cans just laying around in the pantry. we didnt have the tomato or celery but tasted just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These little sandwiches are really yummy. I added just a teeny tiny smidge of pepper, onion powder and garlic powder, and used sliced provolone cheese instead of cheddar. They are really fast and easy and the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNaccarato

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! We did add a little more tuna then suggested and it comes in smaller cans now anyway. The celery made it taste more like a tuna salad then a plain tuna sandwich. I used sharp cheddar cheese. Great simple sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by TokyoVeggie
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yummy and so quick! I used fake corned beef (vegetarian option) instead of tuna, and it was a breeze. Only thing I had a problem with is that it was a bit too oily for my tastes... hubby (who ate it with real tuna as recipe says) thought so, too... Less mayo next time for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TokyoVeggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This is exactly how we make ours except we add onion to the tuna mixture and call them 'tuna toasties'. We have been making, eating and enjoying these for YEARS. They are a great for something different from the usual tuna sanwich. We usually pair ours with mac and cheese~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These were surprisingly good - and so easy! I made sure to chop up my celery very fine so my little ones didn't fuss. I salted and peppered to taste, of course. I think I may play around with the type of cheese in the future. Not that there was anything wrong with the cheddar, but I think provolone or even pepper-jack may be a nice change here and there. What a fantastic busy weeknight fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These were cheap, yet good. Might not use celery next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I thought this would be too plain, but it was delicious! I just added salt and pepper... the flavor was awesome. I only broiled mine long enough to melt the cheese (less than a minute).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyCooksToo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I don't think it's so much any additative that makes it soggy, but the tomato. I used a thin slice of ripe tomato on each slice (with regular bread) and hardly a teaspoon of mayo with a pinch of balsamic vinegar (my own preference); but after broiling until the cheese melted and then putting the halves together to flip and broil each side... It's still a bit soggy, but oh so good!! Thanks, Sal, for an awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States