Cheesy Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Super easy and yummy, simple to adjust to your own taste. We've made this many times now and found we prefer to double the recipe for four people b/c it's so popular! When doubling I use one whole onion, still only one packet of taco seasoning, two cans Rotel (one regular and one mild), and three chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Love this soup! Creamy and not too spicy. I did add diced red peppers, celery & carrots with the onions but only because I like veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Keeper...used a can of rotel and a 14oz can of diced tomatoes, added extra chicken broth cause we like it thinner and more soup like. Tasted awesome, and was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
A soup that my family really enjoyed and liked even better the second day. I only had Queso Blanco Velveeta®, so that is what I had to use. I had a small amount of leftover corn in the fridge, so I added that also. A rotisserie chicken made this soup come together quickly. I served this the tortilla chips and the lime. I think the lime adds a lot to this recipe – don’t omit it. My husband also added a healthy dose of hot salsa to his. The next time I make this, I would like to try it with the Mexican Velveet®.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just made this! I also added about a 1/2 cup of corn and 1/2 can of diced green chilis. I topped it with shredded cheese and a bit of sour cream. This was delicious! The seasoning from the taco seasoning packet was perfect! Mine turned out nice and creamy:) yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justinelovesjesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildomar, California, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Im adding corn and putting it all in the crock pot except the cheese I will add that in the last few minutes...Sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I had to adjust this as I went along, but it turned out very well. I didn’t have no-salt-added tomatoes or reduced sodium chicken broth, so I used 3-10 oz. cans of Rotel and regular chicken broth. I also used more onion (2/3 cup chopped). I was concerned that the full package of taco seasoning would make this too salty, so I only used about half the package. Well, it was still too salty, so I improvised by adding a half cup of heavy cream to diminish the saltiness somewhat. Seemed to work out just fine. The Rotel gave this some great flavor and a nice amount of heat. Next time I might thicken this with a little corn starch to give it a little more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great soup! I followed the recipe pretty closely and it turned out very good. The only thing I did different was to use a lot more onion (I accidentally chopped too much and didn't want to waste it) and use Rotel in place of the canned tomatoes as another reviewer suggested. Both changes added a lot of flavor and gave it the perfect amount of heat. I have made this twice and both times turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was just what I was looking for and it was so easy. I didn't have pre-cooked chicken so I added it with the tomatoes and broth to let it cook. I also added a can of corn, a can of beans and a can of tomatoes with chiles for extra spice. Once the chicken was cooked, I removed it and shredded it before adding it back with the cheese. I was impressed with how good this tasted in such a short amount of time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. I cook for a crowd (80 people ish) weekly and this is by far a favorite. I tweak a few things for more flavor however. Instead of flour I use Masa, instead of plain tomatoes I use Salsa and Ro-tel. And I add (based on how spicy you like it) crushed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. This adds more flavor, makes it thicker, and gives it heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Port Neches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Tortilla Soup

Learn how to make cheesy tortilla soup with Velveeta.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States