Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Excellent appetizer! I used decent old cheddar and added about a teaspoon of cayenne and dry mustard. The food processor makes it a no-brainer, and the chilling time give you just enough time to pop out to the grocery store to pick up the pepper jelly you just realized you were out of. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made these for game night and everyone liked them. I do think they were a little bland and would add a little garlic to them next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe that is so easy to make and tastes fantastic! I took these to a Super Bowl party last night and people raved about these all night long! A definite keeper!! Thank you for sharing this recipe, CarolynWG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
K liked these a lot - more than anyone else. I used part Cabot's extrasharp white cheddar & didn't like it as much as Kraft sharp that I used the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I'm making these right now for a party. Slightly disappointed because the dough doesn't really stick together. And taking them out of the oven, they hold the ball shape and I have to flatten them before adding the jelly. Upon cooling...I'm noticing a flour texture. Not giving up on this recipe, but next time I think I'll add a little milk to the flour, butter, cheese mixture to hold it together better and perhaps a less flour-like texture after they are baked. I'll try adding an extra 2 minutes to the final bake process and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I used homemade hot pepper jelly and used that to top these. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Mine did not turn out as planned however I know these are very good when made properly. I used my Tabasco Pineapple Pepper Jelly which was a little runny and they ended up a sticky peach colored mess. Honestly, I knew better. Next time I will bake, put thumbprint then bake again til done, let cool then drizzle my jelly. Also they need a touch of salt as well. I gave these 4 stars because with store bought Jelly they would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I actually loved this recipe, but I did alter it so I didn't feel I could give it the full 5 stars. I processed the cheese, butter, and flour by hand (don't have a food processor) and I added an egg yolk and garlic powder. I also put the thumbprints and jelly in before I cooked them and just cooked them for the entire 10-15 minutes (I had to add a little time) all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Ohhh, are these a yummy little appetizer! I have been waiting to be with a crowd of people to make this snack. The crowd finally happened, and everyone who tried them, loved them. I used my small cookie scoop and got 30 appetizers. After the first 5 minute bake time I used my small metal measuring spoon to put the thumbprint in the middle - worked great. I then filled it with 'Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly' from AR that I had made. I wouldn't hesitate to make this appetizer again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I took these to a party where finger foods were requested. They were barely touched. The appetizers were set out on a counter with the desserts(which were very appealing)so I think maybe the guests thought they were cookies(??)and opted for the more tempting desserts. I think I will try them again and handle the presentation differently. My hubby and I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States