Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Excellent appetizer! I used decent old cheddar and added about a teaspoon of cayenne and dry mustard. The food processor makes it a no-brainer, and the chilling time give you just enough time to pop out to the grocery store to pick up the pepper jelly you just realized you were out of. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made these for game night and everyone liked them. I do think they were a little bland and would add a little garlic to them next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe that is so easy to make and tastes fantastic! I took these to a Super Bowl party last night and people raved about these all night long! A definite keeper!! Thank you for sharing this recipe, CarolynWG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
K liked these a lot - more than anyone else. I used part Cabot's extrasharp white cheddar & didn't like it as much as Kraft sharp that I used the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I'm making these right now for a party. Slightly disappointed because the dough doesn't really stick together. And taking them out of the oven, they hold the ball shape and I have to flatten them before adding the jelly. Upon cooling...I'm noticing a flour texture. Not giving up on this recipe, but next time I think I'll add a little milk to the flour, butter, cheese mixture to hold it together better and perhaps a less flour-like texture after they are baked. I'll try adding an extra 2 minutes to the final bake process and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I used homemade hot pepper jelly and used that to top these. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Mine did not turn out as planned however I know these are very good when made properly. I used my Tabasco Pineapple Pepper Jelly which was a little runny and they ended up a sticky peach colored mess. Honestly, I knew better. Next time I will bake, put thumbprint then bake again til done, let cool then drizzle my jelly. Also they need a touch of salt as well. I gave these 4 stars because with store bought Jelly they would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I actually loved this recipe, but I did alter it so I didn't feel I could give it the full 5 stars. I processed the cheese, butter, and flour by hand (don't have a food processor) and I added an egg yolk and garlic powder. I also put the thumbprints and jelly in before I cooked them and just cooked them for the entire 10-15 minutes (I had to add a little time) all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Ohhh, are these a yummy little appetizer! I have been waiting to be with a crowd of people to make this snack. The crowd finally happened, and everyone who tried them, loved them. I used my small cookie scoop and got 30 appetizers. After the first 5 minute bake time I used my small metal measuring spoon to put the thumbprint in the middle - worked great. I then filled it with 'Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly' from AR that I had made. I wouldn't hesitate to make this appetizer again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I took these to a party where finger foods were requested. They were barely touched. The appetizers were set out on a counter with the desserts(which were very appealing)so I think maybe the guests thought they were cookies(??)and opted for the more tempting desserts. I think I will try them again and handle the presentation differently. My hubby and I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States