Cheesy Sweet and Savory Spuds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
We could not believe how wonderful these potatoes were!! We love, love, LOVE them!! I only wished I would have tried these potatoes for the thanksgiving holiday to impress my extended family...oh well, there's always Christmas! I used half & half instead of heavy cream, a touch more butter and mixed 1 cup cheese in with the potatoes and the remaining cheese was sprinkled on top as directed. Wonderful!! Thank you Kat!! I plan to serve these many times in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I served this for Thanksgiving. It was fantastic! Without the cheese, it's smooth and savory-sweet and creamy, absolutly a dream. I kinda felt that the cheese actual detracted from it, gave it a tart taste that didn't seem nearly as divine as the 'plain' potatoes were. Next time, I'll be omitting that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Where is the 10 star rating? This was wonderfully delicious! I can't say enough good things about these potatoes! I have made them 4 times including Thanksgiving, Christmas (where I impressed my picky parents! Hooray!) and twice since! These are NOT your average mashed potatoes. In fact, they've now become my favorite! Kat, your a genius in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
this was the easiest and best way that i have served mashed potatoes in years. excellent recipes that pleased my 3 sons and picky husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
These turned out great and made enough to feed a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My husband loves these, and at Christmas a few days ago, my (petite) 11 yr old niece couldn't get enough of them! I've done knock offs of this recipe when I didn't have all ingredients on hand, or didn't want to add the cheese, etc. There's just something about the combination of potatoes with the little bit of brown sugar and cream (half and half, fat free half and half, etc), that is just very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Great recipe. I guess taste varies widely, cause I thought the amount of pepper was perfect. I also baked the potatoes instead of boiling them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
YUM! I made these a few hours in advance and heated at 350 for about 45 minutes prior to serving. They were excellent! I mixed in the cheese instead of topping it. I'm not a huge fan of adding sweetness to anything that's not a desert (or egg salad), but these were great, and everyone at Christmas dinner loved them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe was delicious! I thought 2 teaspoons of pepper would be a lot, so I only used one. Next time I'll use only 1/2 tsp., and that will be very soon! Thanks for the great recipe, Kat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This is a GREAT recipe. I left the skins on the white potatoes and it turned out beautifully. I served this with steak...mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States