Cheesy Sweet and Savory Spuds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was tasty, but I found the pairing of sweet potatoes with regular potatoes unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was just okay for us. I served it exactly as written, to about 6 people. We always are trying new recipes. No one seemed overly excited about it. Sorry :( Easy to make though, a good quick side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
OH MY GOSH - these were heaven. I love potatoes and have an entire cookbook dedicated to just potatoes, however my boyfriend does not enjoy them at all. He LOVED these mashed potatoes and had serving after serving. My new favorite mashed potatoes. I may have goofed up, but it seemed like a little too much black pepper... so I may cut that back a little next time. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
wow. This recipe was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I served this for Thanksgiving. It was fantastic! Without the cheese, it's smooth and savory-sweet and creamy, absolutly a dream. I kinda felt that the cheese actual detracted from it, gave it a tart taste that didn't seem nearly as divine as the 'plain' potatoes were. Next time, I'll be omitting that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My husband loves these, and at Christmas a few days ago, my (petite) 11 yr old niece couldn't get enough of them! I've done knock offs of this recipe when I didn't have all ingredients on hand, or didn't want to add the cheese, etc. There's just something about the combination of potatoes with the little bit of brown sugar and cream (half and half, fat free half and half, etc), that is just very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
These were very good. I didn't think there was too much pepper. I actually added even more then what the recipe called for. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Great recipe. I guess taste varies widely, cause I thought the amount of pepper was perfect. I also baked the potatoes instead of boiling them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Delicious! As other reviewers recommended, I cut way back on the black pepper (1/2 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
YUM! I made these a few hours in advance and heated at 350 for about 45 minutes prior to serving. They were excellent! I mixed in the cheese instead of topping it. I'm not a huge fan of adding sweetness to anything that's not a desert (or egg salad), but these were great, and everyone at Christmas dinner loved them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States