Cheesy Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a great simple recipe except for one problem, I used a box of Barilla Jumbo Shells 12oz size and there was not nearly enough filling for them, only filled 1/2 of them. So, either double the filling amount or use only half the box, I can't help but wonder how "Kimber" was able to fill a 1lb box of shells with this amount. The remaining half cooked shells I have I will fill with a salmon (canned) filling recipe I use often, topped with Alfredo sauce. Thanks anyway Kimber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was good.........but ended up with way too much spinach in ours. Too overwhelming......but with a spinach cut back, would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Made these as is, except I used home made sauce. They were very good a quick and easy week night meal! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
My family loves this dish. There are a couple things to note however. I did find that there is not enough stuffing for the amount of shells. Just use half the box, or double the stuffing. Also, you really have to get all the water out of frozen spinach or the filling is soggy. I use way more than 2 cups of sauce because I like to pour sauce in the bottom of the pan as well as over the top of the shells. Last thing: This recipe is not worth the effort if you are going to use beef or turkey. The flavor change is drastic if you do not use sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I expected this recipe to be cheesier in the filling then it was. I was good, but didn't "wow" me. It was a lot of work for an average meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is pretty good. The spinach and the ricotta are the key ingredients ... not cottage cheese. I put in extra garlic (fresh), omitted the sausage and used homemade marinara sauce. I did not use nearly as much mozzarella cheese on top, as there really is enough inside the shells. Make sure to put sauce on the bottom of the baking dish before you put the shells in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
It's hard to get a real great cheesy filling for pasta - I used this recipe but put it in manicotti (no sausage, fresh spinach). Then recently I wanted to make a lasagna and had to search out this recipe for the filling (no sausage/spinach this time) and it was great! Very versatile and I'm sure one day I will put it in shells too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zashachic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
my family loves this. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was great! I used ground turkey and seasoned with italian seasoning, salt and pepper instead of the Italian sausage. I must've overstuffed some of the shells because I ran short of stuffing. But, it still made enough to fill my lasagna pan all the way! I also used the whole jar of sauce. Stuffing the shells is a little time consuming, but much easier than I thought it would be. I added a little shredded italian chz blend to the stuffing along with the grated parm. I may try the Italian sausage next time. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
SOOOO good! Increased amount of sauce, per recommendations -- used a whole jar of sauce (about 3 cups). This only made 22 shells, definitely not a whole box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States