Cheesy Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This side dish turned out to be everyone’s most favorite dish of an elaborate meal. This is just heaven! I deviated somewhat from the original recipe by crushing onion & garlic croutons instead of the bland saltine crackers. I also made my own baking mix (1/2 cup flour; 0.75 teaspoons baking powder; 1/8 teaspoon salt; 1/2 tablespoon shortening, oil, or melted butter. First mix the dry ingredients then mix in the oil; mix well. You will have some extra baking mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I found the Bisquick made this way too bready. It would have been much better with just the breadcrumbs and crackers. I used Ritz crackers and added some Parmesan cheese. I also sauteed the veggies rather than boiling them. I'll make it again without the Bisquick. I'm sure it'll be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The halved this recipe and used Italian bread crumbs. Loved this dish and will definitely make again when I get the veggies. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I am not a squash eater though I do love zucchini. However, I had some of both so I tried this recipe. I steamed the veggies in a microwave steamer for 7 minutes. No excess water that way and the veggies were nice and tender. The only other thing I did was to take some seasoned croutons and made crouton crumbs in the blender. I used those instead of the saltine cracker crumbs and bread crumbs. Otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Served it with our meal with our friends last night. EVERYONE (including me)loved it. There was none leftover! Only problem with that is that it would have been nice to have had some leftovers for today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
My husband, who is not fond of squash or zucchini LOVES this recipe (NO CHANGES NEEDED) and told me this a keeper. His normal comments are looks good, smells good, tastes good. So if there was 10 star rating this would be it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I didn't care for it because it was mushy & soggy, but my husband and kids gobbled it up; that's why I give it four stars. If I make it again, I'll try sauteeing the veggies instead of boiling and add another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Awesome, but made without buttter, sugar, and baking mix. Also sautéed veggies! Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Awesome! Thank you for sharing!!! This was a hit! I was aiming for a main course so I made some changes; added a pound of mild ground pork sausage, slightly caramelized the onions with one clove crushed garlic. I was out of crackers and used panko bread crumbs. I sprinkled some of the sausage and cheese on top with Italian bread crumbs. YUMMERS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious and mostly healthy!:) The most imp't thing is my very "distinguishing" husband said of his own volition, "This is really good, a high quality dish." I skipped the bread mix and only added a 1/4 c. butter and followed everything else. I didn't have a square dish handy so i made it in a glass pie dish, came out great. Oh, I also cooked it on 375 for the first 15 minutes in the oven, then baked it on 325 for the remainder. This gave it a nice brown crisp on top. Yummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My family loved this!! Even my picky 1 year old loved it!! I only made a couple of changes. I cut the butter in half and topped it with crushed cheese crackers instead of the bread crumbs (a little trick I use when I can to encourage my little ones to try new things). I love the texture of this dish! The addition of the eggs create more of a souffle like consistency than that of a casserole. I think a better name for this would be Squash Souffle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States