Cheesy Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was so wonderful! Easy, too! To lower the fat, I used fat-free sour cream, skim milk, and omitted the Monterey Jack cheese - would do that again (the cheese wasn't even missed!). I omitted the artichoke hearts as well (didn't have any on hand). I used 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. Be sure and add the salt, pepper, and minced onion when blending the milk and sour cream portion - makes it easier. This went wonderfully with "Angela's Easy Breaded Chicken" from this site. The second time I made this, I used penne pasta instead of spaghetti (was easier to eat!) - I doubled everything and used a 13x9x2" pan - had enough to go with 5 chicken breasts! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I used spiral pasta, fresh onion, and fresh spinach. I also added 1 tsp of garlic. I browned the onion and garlic in olive oil, added the spinach to wilt it and added this along with the pasta to the sour cream mixture. All else was the same and I baked it as directed. Thank you for the really good recipe - I'm sure the original is also good, I just can't help myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Yum! Easy and delicious! The changes I made were to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream, I sauteed a chopped onion instead of using the dried, I used the entire can of artichoke hearts, and I used shells intstead of spaghetti. I think any shaped pasta would be better than spaghetti. We will be eating this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I can't honestly rate this recipe because I made several alterations. I didn't want another spagetti noodle recipe so I made it with ZITI. I also STEAMED my own SPINACH and added MUSHROOMS and fresh diced TOMATOES (which gave a juicy burst of flavor, I'll add more next time). I couldn't find artichoke hearts canned so I didn't bother. I also used ITALIAN 5 CHEESE BLEND to give it more parmesan flavor. I SAUTED fresh ONION and GARLIC that I had on hand and also put those in instead. I also didn't have paprika. So..with the changes I made....I LOVED IT and my family enjoyed it as well. I will definatly make again with my alterations and maybe throw in some chicken for the carnivore in the family. Thanks for the base for a tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We all enjoyed this recipe. It tasted like spinach artichoke dip with pasta - It was very good. I did also sautee some onion and garlic instead of minced onion and used shell pasta instead of spaghetti. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Both my husband and I thought this was a great tasting recipe. It is quite easy to prepare and cooks up quickly. I even e-mailed this one to my daughter who also loves spinach and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This turned out perfectly! I made it for a date and she was very impressed. The only change I made was to use Mexican blend instead of whatever cheese the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Very tasty! I used garlic parm/mozz cheese instead of Montery Jack. Very good...one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This has a nice flavor but I made some major changes. First, I was looking for a rice casserole for Christmas dinner, so I replaced the spaghetti with 1 cup of cooked rice. Then, I only used 1/2 the box of spinach, it was plenty. I also added 1/2 can of corn. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I thought this was really bland. It's the first recipe I've found on this site that has had a high rating but disappointed me. With a lot of extra seasoning it could possibly be saved, but I don't think I'll be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States