Cheesy Southwest Chicken Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe and added some red pepper, tomato, and chips to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was a good, quick and easy meal that would be great on a weeknight. I used penne pasta because that is what I had on hand. Since I didn't have taco flavored cheese I used shredded cheddar and about a tablespoon of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Good, easy and quick. Used hot diced green chiles in place of regular diced green chiles. Garnished with diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I really have to admit I went into this recipe not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised! Of course I tweaked it to my tastes. I didn't have any cooked chicken so I used chicken tenderloins and pan fried them with taco seasoning. I then added the Progresso Starter and the 2 T of chopped green chilies (didn't want to use a whole can!) and boiled it a bit to thicken the sauce. I was really afraid of it being more like soup so I only added about 2/3 of the can of Starter. Then added the cooked mini penne. Stirred that up and grated some colby cheese on top, topped with chopped tomatoes. I am pleased with this recipe and may be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This ended up being very good but it needed some help. I cooked two chicken breasts instead of using a rotisserie chicken. I seasoned the chicken with McCormick Southwest Seasoning (a new blend from the gourmet collection). I followed the recipe as indicated but found the dish to be bland. I loved the seasoning that I used in the chicken so I went ahead and added that same seasoning to the pasta dish until it tasted right, probably about 2 teaspoons. I garnished with avocado, tomatoes, chives, red onions and strips of baked corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Made this with ground turkey instead of chicken. Thought the flavor was OK...a bit bland...but easy and quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My family really liked this, it was simple and quick. Didn't change one thing. And didn't have any left at all. I guess this made my family super happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
DELICIOUS and so easy to make, especially for a weeknight dinner. Will definitely be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Very easy to make. I ended up using ground turkey instead, because when I went to the store the rotisserie chickens had another hour to cook so I said forget that. I browned the turkey in a skillet and cooked the pasta in a pot according to the directions on the box. I added several spices to the ground turkey: onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, ground red pepper, and red pepper flakes. I have never tried any of the Progresso starters before so not sure if this recipe would be too bland. I drained the pasta and added it to the skillet and followed the rest of the recipe. I think overall it was good, but needs more spice. Maybe some hot sauce would help at the end. I will try again when I have a rotisserie chicken and maybe the flavors from the chicken will make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
The cheese sauce made the pasta taste sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States