Cheesy Southwest Chicken Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
It was ok - but really bland, and I think it needs a bit of a healthy improvement. I added in a bag of frozen spinach, and spiced it up with some Hot Shot (a black and red pepper blend). I think hot sauce, tomatoes, broccoli...all could be added to make this more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
The cheese sauce made the pasta taste sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Very easy to make. I ended up using ground turkey instead, because when I went to the store the rotisserie chickens had another hour to cook so I said forget that. I browned the turkey in a skillet and cooked the pasta in a pot according to the directions on the box. I added several spices to the ground turkey: onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, ground red pepper, and red pepper flakes. I have never tried any of the Progresso starters before so not sure if this recipe would be too bland. I drained the pasta and added it to the skillet and followed the rest of the recipe. I think overall it was good, but needs more spice. Maybe some hot sauce would help at the end. I will try again when I have a rotisserie chicken and maybe the flavors from the chicken will make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
DELICIOUS and so easy to make, especially for a weeknight dinner. Will definitely be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My family really liked this, it was simple and quick. Didn't change one thing. And didn't have any left at all. I guess this made my family super happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Made this with ground turkey instead of chicken. Thought the flavor was OK...a bit bland...but easy and quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This ended up being very good but it needed some help. I cooked two chicken breasts instead of using a rotisserie chicken. I seasoned the chicken with McCormick Southwest Seasoning (a new blend from the gourmet collection). I followed the recipe as indicated but found the dish to be bland. I loved the seasoning that I used in the chicken so I went ahead and added that same seasoning to the pasta dish until it tasted right, probably about 2 teaspoons. I garnished with avocado, tomatoes, chives, red onions and strips of baked corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I really have to admit I went into this recipe not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised! Of course I tweaked it to my tastes. I didn't have any cooked chicken so I used chicken tenderloins and pan fried them with taco seasoning. I then added the Progresso Starter and the 2 T of chopped green chilies (didn't want to use a whole can!) and boiled it a bit to thicken the sauce. I was really afraid of it being more like soup so I only added about 2/3 of the can of Starter. Then added the cooked mini penne. Stirred that up and grated some colby cheese on top, topped with chopped tomatoes. I am pleased with this recipe and may be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Good, easy and quick. Used hot diced green chiles in place of regular diced green chiles. Garnished with diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was a good, quick and easy meal that would be great on a weeknight. I used penne pasta because that is what I had on hand. Since I didn't have taco flavored cheese I used shredded cheddar and about a tablespoon of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States