Cheesy Sour Cream and Salsa Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIME2COOK4U
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
For more flavor and better consistency, I have changed this over the years. I now use 16 ounce sour cream and 8 ounces of cream cheese. That will help with the runny consistency. Also, use taco flavored cheese and I add chopped green onions. I always have a lot of flavor in mine. If you want even more kick, use the fiesta flavored ranch dressing. That really spices it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I read the variations before making this and used what I had around the house. This dip tastes much better than it looks. I used 8oz neufchatel cheese, 8oz light sour cream, 1 cup white English cheddar finely shredded, 1 can rotel, 1/2 - 3/4 packet of Uncle Dan's ranch dressing dry mix, green onions and fresh garlic to taste. This was a very easy recipe and quite the crowd pleaser. Can be made with many variations to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
5 Stars!! I did not have olives or ranch dip mix on hand; I used 8 ounces cream cheese, 8 ounces sour cream, a can of Rotel, 8 ounces shredded colby/jack cheese and a package of french onion dip mix. This was awesome, super easy and a hit at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
It's okay, but I doubt if I make it again. It tastes like ranch dip with a bit of a twang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooketriestocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Not bad. Not sure I would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very easy and oh so good to make. I couldn't give the recipe 5 stars because I made one adjustment. I used 8 oz of cream cheese and 8 oz of sour cream like many others. Followed everything else. I wanted a thicker dip that would 'stand' up to being left out for a few hours. Since I didn't know what would taste best with the dip, I bought reduced fat Wheat Thins, white corn tortilla chips and baby carrots. All three tasted great! The dip ran out before I even had a chance to enjoy much of it. I even caught a co-worker fingering the sides of the bowl. Will make many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ottrizd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
We tried to liven this up after tasting with Tabasco, red pepper and other spices, but to no avail. We tried both heated and chilled. No one ate it after tasting. Not bad, just not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This dip was a hit at our New Year's Eve party. I was looking for something different to try and came across this recipe. After reading some reviews I made the following changes: Used 8 ounces sour cream and 8 ounces cream cheese. Drained the Rotel tomatoes and used 2 cups of cheddar cheese. I also used the entire package of dry ranch salad dressing. I baked in the oven at 350 for 20 mins. Next time I may even add some bacon pieces. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This dip was good but after following the recipe the first time I made a few changes the next time I made it, I cut the sour cream in half and added 8 oz of cream cheese along with draining the tomato's. I also used about 3 cups of cheddar and the whole package of ranch mix. I baked it for 20 minutes at 350 and everyone liked it a lot more. I was even giving the recipe out at the party we took it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States