Cheesy Shrimp Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Definitely use the OLD ENGLISH spread that comes in a little jar with a blue top (you can find it where you would find Cheez Whiz ~~ but PLEASE don't use Cheez Whiz for this recipe, it will come out too runny! :) When I originally submitted the recipe I specifically mentioned Old English spread, but I guess this site doesn't allow brand names so it wasn't included...but that's a critical part of this recipe. Something I've started doing is making these without the shrimp but adding chopped chives and green onions to the cheese mixture instead and serving alongside homemade tomato basil soup....I don't think life gets any better than that, especially on a cold winter's night!! ENJOY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Made them as an appetizer for a birthday dinner. They were loved by all. I think I might use slightly larger shrimps next time, and the time after that, and the time after that...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is a very easy and quick appetizer. Great to make ahead of time and refrigerate or freeze for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
You HAVE TO use the Old English cheese spread for these. I also make these omitting the shrimp and using a can of "picked-through" flaked crab meat. DELISHIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This recipe feels like home! My mom used to make these for all of our family parties. The only difference is that she would put them under the broiler to get them bubbly and toasty. The crispy / burnt texture makes the english muffin crunch. For those that think it's too salty, try using butter w/o salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I'm editing my review because I served this at Thanksgiving today and the new adjustments I made were a huge hit for my relatives who have had this before. Big improvement for a little work, get a handful of medium frozen shrimp, boil them in lightly salted water, chop them and use them instead of those babies out of the can. I used 5oz of pub cheese because I didn't have the Old English and it was just as good. Lastly, bake them on the halved english muffins and cut them into wedges after they've rested for a couple of minutes. This allows all of that cheese and butter to settle into the nooks and cranies before you cut into them let it all melt out onto the tray all run out. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Outstanding! I used the Old English as recommended. I also used about 10 jumbo shrimp in place of the canned, and added about a 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese. Also, I also got 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These came out very soggy and there was way too much butter. I think they would taste okay if you cut out a lot of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Wow were these rich! We made them 2 times, with small shrimp and with canned crab. Both were magnificent! Tips for success: Use half of the butter called for: can be a bit greasy, Use english muffins: bagels dont work as well, and Kraft Old English cheese spread: Velveeta won't cut it. They freeze well and are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
For simple ingredients like these, it is surprisingly good. I used frozen small cooked shrimp, and put a little bit of shredded sharp cheddar on top. Everyone liked them, they were the first thing to go at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States