Cheesy Shrimp Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These have been such a big hit everytime I've made them. I also make them with crab meat in place of the shrimp. The only complaint I get occasionally is that they are pretty salty, but that's what a lot of people love about them. Regardless, they are so easy because the freeze so well. I slice them into quarters with a pizza cutter prior to freezing and they can go straight from the freezer to the oven to the serving platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Like others reviews, it was awesome. I added the shredded cheddar, cut 2tbsp less from the butter, and served it to my husband. Ate it up quick! Easy to make, and a NEW TIP...FREEZE IN THE BOX English Muffins come in which makes it nice and uniform and easy to pull out as you want them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I'm editing my review because I served this at Thanksgiving today and the new adjustments I made were a huge hit for my relatives who have had this before. Big improvement for a little work, get a handful of medium frozen shrimp, boil them in lightly salted water, chop them and use them instead of those babies out of the can. I used 5oz of pub cheese because I didn't have the Old English and it was just as good. Lastly, bake them on the halved english muffins and cut them into wedges after they've rested for a couple of minutes. This allows all of that cheese and butter to settle into the nooks and cranies before you cut into them let it all melt out onto the tray all run out. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
You HAVE TO use the Old English cheese spread for these. I also make these omitting the shrimp and using a can of "picked-through" flaked crab meat. DELISHIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Really good, really easy and got rave reviews from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This recipe feels like home! My mom used to make these for all of our family parties. The only difference is that she would put them under the broiler to get them bubbly and toasty. The crispy / burnt texture makes the english muffin crunch. For those that think it's too salty, try using butter w/o salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Very yummy! I lightly toasted my english muffins before adding the shrimp mixture on top. I also kept mine whole figuring I would make less of a mess that way. Instead of processed cheese spread, I used Tilamok jalapeno cheddar spread. Everyone loved the subtle kicked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Really different recipe. I kept the muffins whole, but followed everything else exactly. Though, it does seem like a lot of butter to use. I will add chives and green onions next time like a reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Outstanding! I used the Old English as recommended. I also used about 10 jumbo shrimp in place of the canned, and added about a 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese. Also, I also got 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Definitely use the OLD ENGLISH spread that comes in a little jar with a blue top (you can find it where you would find Cheez Whiz ~~ but PLEASE don't use Cheez Whiz for this recipe, it will come out too runny! :) When I originally submitted the recipe I specifically mentioned Old English spread, but I guess this site doesn't allow brand names so it wasn't included...but that's a critical part of this recipe. Something I've started doing is making these without the shrimp but adding chopped chives and green onions to the cheese mixture instead and serving alongside homemade tomato basil soup....I don't think life gets any better than that, especially on a cold winter's night!! ENJOY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States