Cheesy Shrimp Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
AH MAZ ING!!!! I had this several years ago and just made it with this recipe and it was soooo good. Mine turned out bubbly and crunchy! And I used Old English cheese spread. I made some crab ones too, super good, easy, and creates a ton of bite size appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I added Old Bay Seasoning to mine. Might go half on the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
An old landlady I had gave me this recipe years ago and everyone loves it! My only difference is I use a small bag of cooked chopped bacon instead of the shrimp. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These came out very soggy and there was way too much butter. I think they would taste okay if you cut out a lot of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Wow were these rich! We made them 2 times, with small shrimp and with canned crab. Both were magnificent! Tips for success: Use half of the butter called for: can be a bit greasy, Use english muffins: bagels dont work as well, and Kraft Old English cheese spread: Velveeta won't cut it. They freeze well and are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
For simple ingredients like these, it is surprisingly good. I used frozen small cooked shrimp, and put a little bit of shredded sharp cheddar on top. Everyone liked them, they were the first thing to go at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very cheesy, crispy and flavorful! The english muffins were a great choice. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
O.K., I'm odd man out here. I found Old English cheese spread. I think you can get same results from diced Velveeta, a splash of condensed milk and several handfuls of salt. The super saltiness of the cheese spread is what turned me off. I read the nutrient info and that little bottle of salt spread contains 88% of daily sodium value. I place strict limits on my salt intake, so I assume previous reviewers are more sodium tolerant than I. If you want to dress up and shrimp, I urge you to try the Mexican Shrimp Coctail on this site. WARNING : May be addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a variation of an old recipe of my Mom's and a real crowd pleaser. My Mom's recipe calls for crab instead of shrimp. As another reviewer mentioned it is imperative you use "Kraft Old English" cheese spread in the jar. It is getting harder and harder to find these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These have been such a big hit everytime I've made them. I also make them with crab meat in place of the shrimp. The only complaint I get occasionally is that they are pretty salty, but that's what a lot of people love about them. Regardless, they are so easy because the freeze so well. I slice them into quarters with a pizza cutter prior to freezing and they can go straight from the freezer to the oven to the serving platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States