Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Awesome recipe! Didn't change a thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe- I didn't change a thing. I'm so glad to find one that doesn't include a cream of _____ soup in the ingredient list. Thanks for sharing this, Suz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Not an experienced cook at all. I actually hate cooking! Tried this recipe tonight and it was delicious! I followed the directions exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Easy and good comfort food on a cold night! I was rushed for time, so I sliced the potatoes and threw them in the microwave for about 10 minutes while preparing the rest of the ingredients and sauce. Also put the onions in with the sauce to make sure they were tender. Baked at 400 for 45 minutes and potatoes were perfect. Also added a little leftover crumbled bacon to the top before baking - yummy. Sprinkled a little cheddar on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is the first time I loved a recipe so much that I just had to write a review. Truly fabulous!I omitted the peas but kept everything else the same. Stir the potatoes every half hour or so. Will definitely be a household fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I cooked it exactly as directed and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I did change a few things, but the basics of this recipe are great! (As a side note, I did not taste the completed dish as I'm vegan, but made it for my husband, who raved over it). I fried four slices (chopped) of thick-sliced bacon, drained, and set aside. I then fried my ham slices in the bacon drippings to caramelize them for extra flavor. For the sauce, I added the bacon along with the other ingredients. I omitted the peas, used 1/4 tsp. of both garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any cheddar, so I used a 2 C. bag Mexican cheese shredded blend. I also used a whole medium/large onion, instead of a 1/2 C. So, in essence, all I did was add bacon, a little extra seasoning, and extra cheese. I baked it for about 1 hour 15 min., and my husband said the potatoes were cooked perfectly- cooked, but not falling apart. Oh, and I left the skins on the potatoes (used organic). I did as another reviewer said and poured half the sauce over the first layer, the other half over the top of the whole thing. I took the foil off about the last 45 minutes or so, and it browned up great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Really Yummy - wishing I had doubled the recipe as I have no leftovers! I like salt, so I added a little garlic salt and reading previous reviews, let it cook for an hour and a half and it was perfect! I also reserved a little cheese to top it with. Great way to use up leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I would give this 4.5 stars but I rounded up. Definitely yummy comfort food. My husband loved it and the two of us finished a huge pan in two days. I didn't use any peas because I am alergic but it still turned out fine. The only downfall was I couldnt get it to brown as much as I would have liked. I let it bake with the foil off for about 25 minutes and it still didnt brown. Still super delicious, cheesy, and tender. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I tried this recipe last night and my family loved it. I didn't have all the ingredients so I improvised. Must be great with ALL the ingredients. Will definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States