Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
The taste was really good and the meal was filling. However, it took more than 2 hours to cook rather than 1 hr and 15 minutes. I suggest cooking the potatoes and then, make the dish. If it had not been for that, I would have given five stars..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Tasty and easy recipe! A great way to use up left over ham and cheeses. I didn't have 1/4 pound of cheddar so I threw in the last small chuck of cheddar I had, a bit of Havarti I needed to use up, and chunk of colby jack. Fantastic! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
First time making this, I took it to a pot luck and not a drop was left. On dishes like this, I seldom measure so I know I added a lot more cheese but was careful with the garlic powder. Two easy tricks: Just mix the potatoes with the cheese mixture and put it all in the crock pot. Then I poured the mushroom sauce on top and worked it through the dish. Saves a lot of unnecessary fussing. Also, I put the entire dish in the microwave for 20 minutes. It ensured that the potatoes were fully cooked without pre-cooking them. I let it cook the full 4 hours which made it cheesy. This is a keeper - winter or summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe- I didn't change a thing. I'm so glad to find one that doesn't include a cream of _____ soup in the ingredient list. Thanks for sharing this, Suz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I did change a few things, but the basics of this recipe are great! (As a side note, I did not taste the completed dish as I'm vegan, but made it for my husband, who raved over it). I fried four slices (chopped) of thick-sliced bacon, drained, and set aside. I then fried my ham slices in the bacon drippings to caramelize them for extra flavor. For the sauce, I added the bacon along with the other ingredients. I omitted the peas, used 1/4 tsp. of both garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any cheddar, so I used a 2 C. bag Mexican cheese shredded blend. I also used a whole medium/large onion, instead of a 1/2 C. So, in essence, all I did was add bacon, a little extra seasoning, and extra cheese. I baked it for about 1 hour 15 min., and my husband said the potatoes were cooked perfectly- cooked, but not falling apart. Oh, and I left the skins on the potatoes (used organic). I did as another reviewer said and poured half the sauce over the first layer, the other half over the top of the whole thing. I took the foil off about the last 45 minutes or so, and it browned up great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I did make a couple of changes I used 8 oz of sharp cheddar and fresh garlic. For those of you who have never made a cheese sauce before you do need to sauté the onions (and fresh garlic if you choose) first then mix in flour and spices then slowly add the milk then cheese. A whisk works best to stir the sauce. Sauce is ready when the cheese is completely melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Ragan
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I just tried this recipe out last night and it was delicious. My fiance absolutely loved it and apparently got up and ate the leftovers for his midnight snack! The recipe was easy to make and I did make a few adjustments due to what ingredients I had on hand. I used Kielbasa turkey sausage instead of ham and I also used a can of peas instead of frozen, but everything worked great. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Ragan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Our whole family of 7 loved this! Had scaled it to feed 13 or so. and there's only a small bowl's worth left to put up. Only things done differently were: layering the sauce and using a bag of mixed veg. As we are currently broke as a joke, we made this with powdered milk, dried minced onions (put in w/ sauce) and a really plain, cheap, fully-cooked boiled- type ham. Unbelievable! Put it all in my biggest glass baking dish, upped the temp to 375, and it cooked perfectly in 1 hr. Thanks for the recipe, we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I am so excited about this recipe. I followed it to a T. If you are tempted to sauté the onion I would advise against it--the raw onion adds so much flavor while it's baking and it softens while cooking. It's also not necessary to toss the ingredients first--they all blend together while cooking and as you serve it out. With out a doubt this will be my new go-to. It might be fun to add some bread crumbs to the top sometimes but really it isn't necessary at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
The whole family loved this! I didn't put the peas or onions in (picky kids) & it was still great. I also poured sauce over each layer. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States