Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was so good. I didn't have time for it all to cook, so I pre-cooked the sliced potatoes in the microwave for 6-8 minutes. I upped the spices a tiny bit. We agreed, it was the best scalloped potatoes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I must have done something wrong, because the end result was more like soup than scalloped. Flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made a few changes: I microwaved the potato and carrot slices for 5 mins. I added carrots for color and flavor. I sauteed diced bacon and then added the onion to the browned bacon until onion was soft. Added 1 large clove chopped garlic to the softened onions and sauteed for another 30 seconds. I put the onion mixture into a bowl and added butter to the pan along with flour and stirred until flour was cooked. Then I added the 2 cups heated milk and whisked until thickened. After it was thickened I added the salt, pepper, garlic powder, 1 T fresh parsley (could have used more). 8 oz of sharp cheddar cheese. I forgot the paprika,but will use that next time. I will add either broccoli and/or celery next time. I really like alot of veggies. Since the potatoes were microwaved and the milk mixture hot, it only took 40 mins to brown. Thank you to Suz Boyd for such a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I tried these and they were good. My husband liked them also. They were missing something for a 5 star rating. I love scalloped potatoes but I have not found a recipe better than my Aunt's. She will hardly ever share a recipe and if she does she usually leaves one ingredient out so no one can make it better than her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
OMG is all I can say! Wow! Just wow! I didn't change a thing and this was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Very good, but they do take longer than an hour to cook. I make these as part of my freezer stock for dinners. Just get them ready, don't cook them and put in the freezer. Take out, thaw and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy lynch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was the first time I've made a homemade cheese sauce, and it yummy,yummy,yummy. My husband loved this! he couldn't get enough, my 6yr old daughter who it so picky couldn't stop saying how much she liked this meal. The only thing I changed was used smoked sausage instead, and used xtra cheese on each layer. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Nobody really liked it. I made potato pancakes with the leftovers. Topped with a fired egg. Everybody went crazy over those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Omitted onion powder and peas. Similar to au gratin potatoes. Used leftover bone-in pork roast (basically uncured ham). Sprinkled shredded cheddar on top of ham and onions rather than adding to béchamel. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was really great! The only change I made was substituting a can of drained, French cut green beans for the peas. Great way to use left over ham. Comfort food, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States