Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This recipe is delicious....even my 12 year old loves it....and its a great way to sneak in veggies.... the only things i changed is that i doubled the rice....and used two cups shredded cheddar (i dont like processed cheese food).... EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe, and it is so easy to experiment with. The only adjustments i made was adding a chopped italian frying pepper to the onion/sausage/zucchini/tomato combo, and some italian seasoning and parsley. I also diced up the sauasge before putting it in the oven. We will definately make this again! i think i might stuff this mixture inside an eggplant! Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmela McCleary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I modified this recipe to be vegetarian by substituting 1 1/12 packages (or 6 sausages) Boca Vegetarian Italian Sausage (cooked & crumbled). I also made a few other subsitutions: 8 oz. package shredded reduced fat sharp cheddar instead of processed cheese food; 8 oz. fresh mushrooms instead of canned which I added at the same time as the zucchini & tomatoes; and I used brown rice instead of white. I agree with others about the rice -- it could have been increased to one cup. Nevertheless, a very flexible and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I took this to a potluck and everyone loved it. I used hot sausage. My husband wants me to make it again for dinner this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Update: I no longer eat processed cheese. Organic cream cheese is a perfect substitute for the processed cheese in this recipe! Original Review: This was really good. I was worried that the processed cheese would be too strong of a taste (I'm not very fond of it), but it just added a creaminess and didn't detract at all. I was also afraid that 1/2 cup of rice wouldn't be enough, but it was great. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe--and coming from me, that really means a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
My neighbor brought me a huge zucchini. I made this recipe, and what a feast! The taste is delicious. It takes a little time to make, but I think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
It takes a bit of time and effort to make, but well worth it! Very yummy dish. It's especially good cooked with Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was great! I would add more rice next time though & substitute ground turkey for lower fat. My husband ate the leftovers with green peas & loved it, so I would add green peas next time too. Overall, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I substituted ground turkey and cheddar and added a sprig of thyme and minced garlic. Very tasty. Also used fresh mushrooms tops. Good dish for garden zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I used Cheez Whiz just so my kids would try it (they LOVE Cheez Whiz) They all liked it. I also used a medium spiced sausage to give it a little more flavor and my husband loved it also! Next time I am going to put some eggs in it and try it as a breakfast casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States