Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My family usually doesn't like my recipes from the internet, but this one was a huge hit !!! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, added fresh green pepper and garlic to the zucchini, and added shredded cheddar to the velveeta. The only other thing that I did different was use 1 cup of whole grain rice. It is a recipe that we will be making for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is a summer favorite. I use cheddar instead of cheese food, and substitute hot Italian sausage for the pork sausage to give it an extra kick. I do not use canned mushrooms, but instead add sliced black olives and sliced water chestnuts. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did have to use a little more rice simply because of all the extra liquid the tomatoes created when cooked ( I used a can of drained rotel). I used a spicy sausage (which ended up being too hot for the kids) but was great for me and my husband. My husband isn't a huge fan of zucchini, but he ate this without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Just made this last night! I didn't do everything exactly to measurement, since I cut the recipe in half. I used turkey sausage, and used some shredded Monterrey Jack cheese I had. It turned out pretty yummy! I personally think it would make great breakfast burritos in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I cooked this for me and my g/f. I didn't have the onion or tomato, so I used salsa and I substituted half the sausage with ground beef, also I used Italian sausage. I doubled the rice portion and we loved it! She said this has become one of her new favs!! I think it would be good with extra zucchini, or even some squash. Thanks so much for the new dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gardner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
A big hit at our house! We will be making this many times over & only a few changes too. Added bell pepper, left out the mushrooms & also stopped cooking about half way through & added about 1/4 cup of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel_1988

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This recipe tasted great. I had to get out my husband's lunch for the next day early so he would have enough. I did saute mushrooms instead of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
We.Love.This.Casserole! It just tastes good, period. I use whole grain brown rice and will use sharp cheddar next time just because I'm not a fan of processed foods when I don't have to use them. Really though, the ease and taste is so unique and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very nice! I didn't read the reviews beforehand but still ended up doubling the rice (which I would recommend). I also used a mix of pork sausage and beef chipotle sausage, as that was what I found in the store that was organic - it gave a nice more varied flavour. I also used more and fresh mushrooms, which I'd also recommend, and I don't even know what processed cheese food is, but it doesn't sound like something I'd want to get mixed up in (no offence). I used shredded gouda, mostly old, which I think also added to the flavour. The oregano plays an instrumental part so I wouldn't skimp on it. May try adding some more herbs and garlic next time. All in all it was a really nice dish, that's easy to make a large portion of, so you can eat it for a few days or freeze some for a quick meal during a busy week. Which is always a plus for me, getting home late every evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was ok, but one hour in the oven was way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States