Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I added a lot of extra spices to this recipe, but as a base recipe it was good. I sauteed fresh mushrooms, onions, & garlic in some olive oil for 5 minutes and then added the zucchini and seasonings (italian seasoning, cayenne pepper, black pepper, and some basil). Then I added the sausage (already cooked, leftover from biscuits & gravy), cheese, a drained can of italian stewed tomatoes and rice. I should have doubled my rice because my mixture turned out a bit soupy so I just served it in a bowl with flatbread. I made it all in one pot and didn't bake it because we were short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This dish is wonderful. Made this twice in 3 days at the request of my husband. Had hoped to freeze leftovers but there weren't any and there are only the 2 of us eating it! Only changes were using equal amounts of mozzarella and cheddar rather than processed cheese, upped the amount of rice and no onion (allergic). Must stock up on zucchini so that it can be made during the winter months. A new comfort food. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Nice and hearty for my husband and son. I used hamburger instead of sausage and omitted the mushrooms. I took the others' suggestions and added cheddar. I also only baked it for 1/2 hour, just enough to heat through because I prefer my zucchini slightly firm. I also used twice the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was such a flavorful casserole! I actually used orzo pasta instead of the rice and added a small can of tomato sauce to keep it moist! Everyone loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whino247

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was pretty good. Added some power greens, garlic and a little red sauce to keep it from being dry. Also used real cheese, fresh mushrooms, and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My family did not enjoy this dish. It was bland and the processed cheese left a funny taste and film in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Really liked this recipe...it's one of those that you can change things up if you want and it still works. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand, so I used a can of diced tomatoes. Also, I needed to speed things up so I used some leftover couscous (instead of rice) and used Jimmy Dean turkey sausage crumbles in place of the sausage. Ate with tortilla chips. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because my kids ate it and loved it! I can't get them to eat zucchini any other way. My husband loves it too and he is a vegetable aficionado. We grow our own and he hates the fact that the kids won't eat them. Now they do! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
A new household favorite! I added more of everything, used real cheese and eliminated the mushroom... so easy to make and everybody eats without complaining... can't go wrong with that combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I am not a "squishy" veggie eater - I like my veggies raw for the most part, but I had fresh zucchini given to me and this sounded good. On the advice of other reviewers, I also substituted out the processed cheese for 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese and doubled the rice. I also increased the onion and tomato portions to balance the zucchini since I used more than the recipe called for. I added about 1/4 cup of roasted garlic (I think I will use fresh next time as this did not make a whole lot of difference in taste). I used fresh mushrooms and Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sausage, Sage flavor. To top it off, I put a Mexican blend cheese on top with Panko bread crumbs. There was very little leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States