Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Excellent!! Really delicious. I made minor adjustments to the ingredients and methods. I used the recommended amount of rice, but more would probably also be good. I used Lundberg's Wild Rice Blend. Used Italian sausage. Omitted mushrooms (personal taste). Used a combination of mozzarella and cheddar/jack. Sounds good with Velveeta, but I just don't keep Velveeta on hand. [No offense to the cheese purists, but if you're eating a casserole made of white rice and sausage, I'm sure a little Velveeta wouldn't hurt.] One suggestion on the methods: saute the zucchini LIGHTLY, not until tender. If you saute until tender, and bake for one hour, you will have mushy zucchini. Already cooked veggies of any variety probably won't take baking for one hour after they are already cooked. Thanks for the recipe. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Instead of sausage I used leftover cooked corned beef. Good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Think this turned out so yummy cos I used chorizo sausage, so the taste permeated the whole dish. With reg sausage think it would be bland. Also was verging on being dry, which is to OUR taste but obviously wouldnt please some people. Defo a dish I will make regularly- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This recipe was good, but not so spectacular that I plan to make it again. I followed the recipe as written, except I used cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This was fantastic!!! I'm not a cook and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I didn't see the YUM coming! She's a keeper. Even my "this isn't real cheese" and "I wasn't expecting much" husband was pleasantly surprised. I double the rice (and water, duh) per some reviewers and cut the cook time down to 30 minute as dinner was running very late (and I figured everything was cooked anyway) and it was perfect. I didn't even realize until it was in the oven that it DIDN'T call for Italian sausage and I'm glad I used it -- though that combined with following the suggestions to up the oregano was overkill. I just barely cooked the zucchini so it wouldn't get too mushy in the oven. Next I'll try with pasta or orzo. UPDATE: The orzo wasn't as good as the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
recipe was okay. used shredded cheddar cheese and spicy saugage. Taste was good. Not sure if I would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was very tasty. My whole family loved it! I have 2 picky kiddos and they ate every bit on their plates. I used spicy pork sausage and a little more mushrooms. Overall...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This recipe is yummy. I will make again for sure, possibly add more rice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This recipe was great, except when I went up for seconds, the zucchini had become mushy. Still, it was a good recipe, and a way to get my hubby to eat veggies! I used hot Italian sausage to give it a 'kick'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States