Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This made enough for an army and was not all that great. We ate it the first night but ended up tossing the rest in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I really just thought this was so-so. Im sorry but I dont think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was great. I must confess my husband made it and gets the credit (but hey I found and printed the recipe for him right?). Couple changes, used real cheese instead of processed, and brown rice instead of white... also, he layered the casserole and cheese alternatly instead of mixing the cheese in. Yum. I love my hubby. (Next time... spicy sausage might be better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
What a great casserole!! A good way to use all that zucchini from the garden!The only thing I'll change next time is the cheese--the Velveeta made it a little too rich for me--I think shr. cheddar or a shr. Mexican/taco blend would be more to my liking. My husband said he loved it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was really good! I have to say, I really liked the Velveeta! I also used Chorizo sausage which was key. It ended up being more like a stew than a casserole but it was still really good and made great leftovers. Goes well with some crescent rolls fresh from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
YUMMY!! I cubed & used Hillshire Farm ready-to-eat smoked beef sausage (available in luncheon meats section in the store) because it's my husband's favorite & I always have it on hand. Saved time! Like another review said, only gently cooked the zukes and they were still tender-crisp perfect when the casserole was done. Also added a handful of FRESH mushrooms & coarse chopped Vidalia onion, instead. I also used a full box of Zatarain's wild & long grain rice not knowing it had seasonings already in it (Oops, in a hurry!) but it turned out GREAT!! I just omitted both the regular & garlic salts, and just kicked it up a few notches and added about four minced cloves of fresh garlic, instead. Mixed with a variety of cheeses (no Velveeta!!) I had on hand. Fabulous! Thanks, will make again! Even better the next day! Made a BIG batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Excellent!! Really delicious. I made minor adjustments to the ingredients and methods. I used the recommended amount of rice, but more would probably also be good. I used Lundberg's Wild Rice Blend. Used Italian sausage. Omitted mushrooms (personal taste). Used a combination of mozzarella and cheddar/jack. Sounds good with Velveeta, but I just don't keep Velveeta on hand. [No offense to the cheese purists, but if you're eating a casserole made of white rice and sausage, I'm sure a little Velveeta wouldn't hurt.] One suggestion on the methods: saute the zucchini LIGHTLY, not until tender. If you saute until tender, and bake for one hour, you will have mushy zucchini. Already cooked veggies of any variety probably won't take baking for one hour after they are already cooked. Thanks for the recipe. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Instead of sausage I used leftover cooked corned beef. Good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Think this turned out so yummy cos I used chorizo sausage, so the taste permeated the whole dish. With reg sausage think it would be bland. Also was verging on being dry, which is to OUR taste but obviously wouldnt please some people. Defo a dish I will make regularly- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States