Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Didn't like it with the tomatos, so I made it again and took them out. Then it was awesome! I also don't put it in the oven for more than 35-40 minutes. All the stuff is cooked already, there's no reason to put it in there for an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Major

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I didn't really care much for this recipe. It was ordinary at best. Not enough rice, and for some reason, the zucchini didn't taste good to me. I couldn't finish my portion, but my husband ate all of his. It's probably not the fault of the recipe, it just didn't appeal to me for some reason, even though I generally like all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I was hesitant about this recipe...I mean, sausage and zucchini?! :) But it was amazing. I substituted a bit though…used spicy kielbasa and sharp cheddar, per other recommendations. I used only about 2 cups of zucchini (just because that’s all that I had) and added a can of corn after the casserole was finished…delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This made enough for an army and was not all that great. We ate it the first night but ended up tossing the rest in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I really just thought this was so-so. Im sorry but I dont think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was great. I must confess my husband made it and gets the credit (but hey I found and printed the recipe for him right?). Couple changes, used real cheese instead of processed, and brown rice instead of white... also, he layered the casserole and cheese alternatly instead of mixing the cheese in. Yum. I love my hubby. (Next time... spicy sausage might be better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
What a great casserole!! A good way to use all that zucchini from the garden!The only thing I'll change next time is the cheese--the Velveeta made it a little too rich for me--I think shr. cheddar or a shr. Mexican/taco blend would be more to my liking. My husband said he loved it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was really good! I have to say, I really liked the Velveeta! I also used Chorizo sausage which was key. It ended up being more like a stew than a casserole but it was still really good and made great leftovers. Goes well with some crescent rolls fresh from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
YUMMY!! I cubed & used Hillshire Farm ready-to-eat smoked beef sausage (available in luncheon meats section in the store) because it's my husband's favorite & I always have it on hand. Saved time! Like another review said, only gently cooked the zukes and they were still tender-crisp perfect when the casserole was done. Also added a handful of FRESH mushrooms & coarse chopped Vidalia onion, instead. I also used a full box of Zatarain's wild & long grain rice not knowing it had seasonings already in it (Oops, in a hurry!) but it turned out GREAT!! I just omitted both the regular & garlic salts, and just kicked it up a few notches and added about four minced cloves of fresh garlic, instead. Mixed with a variety of cheeses (no Velveeta!!) I had on hand. Fabulous! Thanks, will make again! Even better the next day! Made a BIG batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States