Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
So good! I had to modify according to what I had so I subbed a few things: 8 oz fresh mushrooms, ricotta & cheddar, canned diced tomatoes, fresh oregano. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
***** Yummy Made with zuks from our garden. Used brown rice also. Would def. make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Very good. I added a little more tomato, used brown rice, added some fresh basil & parsely I had out in the garden and used an Italian cheese blend instead of the processed chesse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is such a quick and easy recipe and I have most of the ingredients on hand all the time (well, not the zucchini). I make this up ahead of time, in the morning or even a day or two ahead, then just put it in the oven while preparing the rest of supper. My family prefers the Italian sausage and I usually use an Italian or Mexican cheese blend. It is AWESOME! A tossed salad and some crusty Italian bread - YUM! Additional Note: The next time I made this I stuffed several large, long, sweet Italian red peppers with it and baked them in the oven for about 20 to 25 minutes, topped them shredded mozzarella cheese and baked 5 minutes longer! OMG!!! They were AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Wow! I made this almost exactly as written, except for the following changes: I used a combination of Mozzarella and grated Parmesan for the cheese, and a sprinkling of Parmesan on top. I also added a tsp minced garlic while cooking the sausage and onion. All I had on hand was minute rice, which worked just fine (I prepared it according to package directions and then added it when it was called for) I did not increase the rice or decrease the liquid, as some have suggested. I used a pork sausage labeled "Spicy-Medium" which was just right for us. I also used an 8oz pkg of fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned. This was really surprisingly good. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. All but my 8 year old devoured it. He was having an issue with the zucchini chunks. My husband suggested that next time I might grate the zucchini so that it would be less conspicuous. I'll give it a try. One thing is for sure, I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for such a tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
It was very good. We didn't use the rice. I didn't need the carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I peeled and seeded my tomatoes before adding them, as I don't like the skins. I also added some mozzarella, and used 1 cup of orzo instead of rice. I used spicy Italian sausage and added dried basil and Italian seasoning. I omitted the mushrooms as I didn't have any. I made a topping out of panko crumbs, parmesan cheese, and parsley. I baked it for about 20 minutes, and broiled the top until the crumbs were brown, maybe 5 minutes. This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganEscondido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I enjoyed this casserole very much. I substituted brown rice for white, and hot turkey sausage for the pork sausage. I cooked 3 chopped cloves of garlic with the sausage. I did not find a need to drain the mixture before baking. If anything, it was a little dry. I think it depends on how watery your tomatoes are. Mine was very ripe and meaty. I will definitely make this casserole again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kiermaier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Very good! I would add more tomatoes and squash, but otherwise a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Love this recipe!!! I added diced green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States