Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Substituted 1 can black beans for mushrooms, used two kinds of sausage (spicy and sweet), regular shredded mild cheddar and some italian breadcrumbs on to. It was amazing! I actually used a little olive oil to brown the cut up sausage (cut to size as you like, my slices could have been smaller) and I liked having a little extra moisture for it all to bake with (rather than straining it) because it would dry out otherwise by being cooked for 1 hour uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I loved this recipe. I skipped the mushrooms and just used grated cheese and canned tomato. I also used an Italian sausage. Kids didn't love it but I did. Will definitely make again with a different dish for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was really good. I used Italian turkey sausage, both zucchini and yellow squash, garlic, black and crushed red pepper. I used two cups of rice and the entire 16 ounce cook of velveeta. Very creamy and cheesy. Although it was good with turkey sausage next time I will try with the pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is just plain good. Not fancy, but super comforting and delicious. I doubled the rice and used a jar of salsa in lieu of the fresh tomatoes. I also used a roll of breakfast sausage and it was perfect. I am eating the leftovers for lunch and it's just as good as it was last night for dinner. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe, i made it with rotini noodles instead of rice and 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I also used shredded cojack in place of the process cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDL
Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yummy! I was leary of this because of the processed cheese but it was GREAT! I changed a few things because I needed to use up things from my garden: used ground turkey, omit the oregano and substituted grill seasoning, no mushrooms, added 5 minced bananna peppers, 1 red pepper, and 2T minced garlic (we are garlic lovers). I only baked for 15 min because that's all it really needed to melt the cheese and make it creamy. Also, I avoided an extra clean up step by baking it in my skillet (make sure your skillet is oven safe). Husband couldn't get enough and I loved it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellant dish! Easy to make. Only suggestions I would give is less sausage and cheese. My family loves both but these were a little overpowering to the veggies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great recipe but I made a few tweaks. Definately needed to double the rice. I didn't have velveeta on hand so I used 4 slices of american cheese and 2 cups of a cheese blend (montery jack, chedder, asadero) and a 1/2 cup of milk. I used a can of tomatoes because our tomato plants haven't produced red tomatoes yet. My 8 and 11 yr olds both loved it and my hubby did too...excellent in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I thought the base for this recipe was great. I wanted to use up some zucchini and squash I had and wanted a hearty recipe (no way I was going to eat them plain). Some changes: tripled the amount of rice (may have been a tad too much) used about 2 minced cloves of garlic instead of onion, used turkey kielbasa instead of ground sausage, shredded mild cheddar instead of processed cheese, doubled the mushrooms (I love them!) and used a can of diced tomatoes (with juice) instead of fresh tomatoes. I really liked it, especially the flavor pop of the tomatoes. ETA: The oregeno is key to this tasting great. I definitely put more than a pinch in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband loved it and the only change i made was to double the rice, I'm a rice-a-holic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

VELVEETA Cheesy Bacon Brunch Casserole

This savory breakfast casserole is super quick and easy.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States