Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Absolutely delicious! My prep time was definitely more than 30 minutes, even with my daughter's help (although probably due to my substitutions), but well worth the effort. I used part sweet, part hot turkey sausage, lots of minced fresh garlic cooked with the sausage & onion, fresh mushrooms (added with zucchini & tomatoes). I used brown rice, doubled the amount as per others' suggestions, and lots more than a pinch of oregano. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion to remove the mixture with a slotted spoon and allow the liquid to reduce. Per my family's tastes, I used a mixture of shredded parmesan and mozzarella in place of the processed cheese, then topped with more shredded mozz. Only needed about 30 to 40 minutes in the oven. Everyone raved! Thanks Mandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
We loved this recipe! Made some adjustments though. Used old cheddar intead of processed cheese and hot italian sausage for a little kick. We actually prepared it in advance and froze it for a quick weeknight dinner. Worked well enough. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
My neighbor brought me a huge zucchini. I made this recipe, and what a feast! The taste is delicious. It takes a little time to make, but I think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This recipe is delicious....even my 12 year old loves it....and its a great way to sneak in veggies.... the only things i changed is that i doubled the rice....and used two cups shredded cheddar (i dont like processed cheese food).... EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I didn't want to try this recipe, but I had all the ingredents on hand. I followed some suggestions, also posted here, like using a spicy Italian sausage instead of using plain, and added other herbs, garlic, salt and pepper. I found the recipies was too big for my pan, by the time I needed to add the rice, cheese and mushrooms, so I used a mixing bowl. I also recommend using a slotted spoon to remove the zucchini mixture as the zucchini and tomato sweat a lot and reducing the 2 cups of liquid that remained in the pan, until it is about 1/2 cup of beautiful flavour. I also made a breadcrumb topping with just 1/4 cup of cheese added. This one is a winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This was really good. I was worried that the processed cheese would be too strong of a taste (I'm not very fond of it), but it just added a creaminess and didn't detract at all. I was also afraid that 1/2 cup of rice wouldn't be enough, but it was great. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe--and coming from me, that really means a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
So delicious, it's inspired my husband and I to start planning for a garden! I followed others' advice and increased the rice to one cup. The first time I made this, I accidentally purchased hot italian sausage, which my husband LOVED. I couldn't handle so much spice, so the next time I used medium and it was perfect. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Didn't like it with the tomatos, so I made it again and took them out. Then it was awesome! I also don't put it in the oven for more than 35-40 minutes. All the stuff is cooked already, there's no reason to put it in there for an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Major

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was great! I would add more rice next time though & substitute ground turkey for lower fat. My husband ate the leftovers with green peas & loved it, so I would add green peas next time too. Overall, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I made this the other night and my family loved it. I took the left overs (very little) to work and everyone had a bite and asked for the receipe! Yum Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States