Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is killer. My husband says it is Money!! I used bulk Italian sausage and added some parmesan cheese and a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella. Wow, I will make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Great receipe with some minor changes. I didn't read the reveiws beforehand, which I usually do, but I would certainly double the rice next time as suggested. I used sharp cheddar cheese rather then processed cheese (yuck). I also added about 2x the onion and tomato. I didn't have straight oregano so I used Italian seasoning (mostly oregano anyhow), and I used considerably more then a pinch. I also used turkey sausage rather then pork and a wild rice blend I got at Costco (we never use white rice anymore). All minor changes but worth noting. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
So good! I had to modify according to what I had so I subbed a few things: 8 oz fresh mushrooms, ricotta & cheddar, canned diced tomatoes, fresh oregano. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
***** Yummy Made with zuks from our garden. Used brown rice also. Would def. make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Very good. I added a little more tomato, used brown rice, added some fresh basil & parsely I had out in the garden and used an Italian cheese blend instead of the processed chesse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is such a quick and easy recipe and I have most of the ingredients on hand all the time (well, not the zucchini). I make this up ahead of time, in the morning or even a day or two ahead, then just put it in the oven while preparing the rest of supper. My family prefers the Italian sausage and I usually use an Italian or Mexican cheese blend. It is AWESOME! A tossed salad and some crusty Italian bread - YUM! Additional Note: The next time I made this I stuffed several large, long, sweet Italian red peppers with it and baked them in the oven for about 20 to 25 minutes, topped them shredded mozzarella cheese and baked 5 minutes longer! OMG!!! They were AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Wow! I made this almost exactly as written, except for the following changes: I used a combination of Mozzarella and grated Parmesan for the cheese, and a sprinkling of Parmesan on top. I also added a tsp minced garlic while cooking the sausage and onion. All I had on hand was minute rice, which worked just fine (I prepared it according to package directions and then added it when it was called for) I did not increase the rice or decrease the liquid, as some have suggested. I used a pork sausage labeled "Spicy-Medium" which was just right for us. I also used an 8oz pkg of fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned. This was really surprisingly good. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. All but my 8 year old devoured it. He was having an issue with the zucchini chunks. My husband suggested that next time I might grate the zucchini so that it would be less conspicuous. I'll give it a try. One thing is for sure, I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for such a tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
It was very good. We didn't use the rice. I didn't need the carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I peeled and seeded my tomatoes before adding them, as I don't like the skins. I also added some mozzarella, and used 1 cup of orzo instead of rice. I used spicy Italian sausage and added dried basil and Italian seasoning. I omitted the mushrooms as I didn't have any. I made a topping out of panko crumbs, parmesan cheese, and parsley. I baked it for about 20 minutes, and broiled the top until the crumbs were brown, maybe 5 minutes. This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganEscondido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I enjoyed this casserole very much. I substituted brown rice for white, and hot turkey sausage for the pork sausage. I cooked 3 chopped cloves of garlic with the sausage. I did not find a need to drain the mixture before baking. If anything, it was a little dry. I think it depends on how watery your tomatoes are. Mine was very ripe and meaty. I will definitely make this casserole again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States