Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because my kids ate it and loved it! I can't get them to eat zucchini any other way. My husband loves it too and he is a vegetable aficionado. We grow our own and he hates the fact that the kids won't eat them. Now they do! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
A new household favorite! I added more of everything, used real cheese and eliminated the mushroom... so easy to make and everybody eats without complaining... can't go wrong with that combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I am not a "squishy" veggie eater - I like my veggies raw for the most part, but I had fresh zucchini given to me and this sounded good. On the advice of other reviewers, I also substituted out the processed cheese for 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese and doubled the rice. I also increased the onion and tomato portions to balance the zucchini since I used more than the recipe called for. I added about 1/4 cup of roasted garlic (I think I will use fresh next time as this did not make a whole lot of difference in taste). I used fresh mushrooms and Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sausage, Sage flavor. To top it off, I put a Mexican blend cheese on top with Panko bread crumbs. There was very little leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Great recipe to use up some zucchini! I excluded the mushrooms as my husband does not like them, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Used sage sausage - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My family usually doesn't like my recipes from the internet, but this one was a huge hit !!! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, added fresh green pepper and garlic to the zucchini, and added shredded cheddar to the velveeta. The only other thing that I did different was use 1 cup of whole grain rice. It is a recipe that we will be making for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is a summer favorite. I use cheddar instead of cheese food, and substitute hot Italian sausage for the pork sausage to give it an extra kick. I do not use canned mushrooms, but instead add sliced black olives and sliced water chestnuts. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did have to use a little more rice simply because of all the extra liquid the tomatoes created when cooked ( I used a can of drained rotel). I used a spicy sausage (which ended up being too hot for the kids) but was great for me and my husband. My husband isn't a huge fan of zucchini, but he ate this without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Just made this last night! I didn't do everything exactly to measurement, since I cut the recipe in half. I used turkey sausage, and used some shredded Monterrey Jack cheese I had. It turned out pretty yummy! I personally think it would make great breakfast burritos in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I cooked this for me and my g/f. I didn't have the onion or tomato, so I used salsa and I substituted half the sausage with ground beef, also I used Italian sausage. I doubled the rice portion and we loved it! She said this has become one of her new favs!! I think it would be good with extra zucchini, or even some squash. Thanks so much for the new dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gardner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States