Cheesy Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I missed reading the reviews that said not enough sauce. Wish I would've read that but I'll know for next time I make it. Family liked it. I added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This recipe' is so good I've made it several times. The only problem I have is that just 1 can of stewed tomatoes is not enough sauce to even begin to cover the shells, Even with the heavy cream. I use 2 cans of stewed tomatoes and add a small can of tomato paste with about 1/2 can of water from paste can. I always add a little sugar when I use paste because paste tends to be bitter. This makes the correct amount of sauce to cover the shells. This is a delicious recipe' that I will continue to make over and over !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe that can be altered to taste :) I never thought to buy bulk sausage for something like this :) but I also used farfalle and nixed the stewed tomatos. Instead I sautee the onions and garlic, then cook the sausage with them. add some cut up asparagus for color ;). then a small can of tomato sauce and maybe 1/2 cup of half and half or heavy cream. also throw in some cut up sundried tomatos for a nice tang :) parmesan and its all set! Hubby Loves this! It makes plenty for dinner and lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
MAde this one twice already and will make it again. I thought it was so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I had made the pasta twice and my fmaily loved it! The first time was fine but I used the parmesan cheese. It tasted pretty strong BUT when we had leftover next day, it was richly delcious. Last time I made it with the mozz. cheese instead, The taste was so much better and delicious! I used the stewed tomato twice. It was so good! It is one of our favorite meals! Also it is a great budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My kids love this....I used lean turkey sausage out of the casing, fat free half and half instead of cream and I reduced the grated cheese to about 1/2c. I used pecorino romano instead of parm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I accidently bought the Super Extra large shells, and i added sauted muhrooms, and more onions than called for.. it was AWESOME! perfect dish to set aside and freeze for lunches for work! I will most definatly be making this again, and again, and again! i also omitted the pepers, im not a fan of cooked pepers. and threw in a bit of italian seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My entire gang loved it! Nice comfort food for a cold night. I did not use groud sausage I used sausage links and cut into bite sized pieces. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Well received in my household! I doubled the recipe by doubling all the ingredients except the pasta - kept that at 16 ounces. I used 1 pound of Italian sausge and one pound of Bob Evans orginal sausage. I also did drain the sausage after cooking it - a must. Also, I did use freshly grated Parmesan cheese - not the prepackaged stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the proportions of the ingredients are all off. I heeded the advice of other reviewers that there was not enough sauce, so I used TWO cans of diced tomatoes (I used Italian) and TWO cups of half and half (instead of heavy cream in an effort to make it a bit more healthy) and only 12 oz. of pasta. The only extra ingredient I added was a very small amount of red pepper flakes. This came out so delicious! There was JUST enough sauce with my alterations, so I imagine if you make this as listed it would be pretty dry. I did use a smoked chicken sausage instead of italian sausage (but that was to reduce fat). I think just about any kind of sausage would be great in this recipe. It also seems like a great base recipe to add other things; for instance, I think fresh mushrooms would be a great addition to this dish. This recipe is instantly one of my favorites. I will make this again and again. Kid-friendly, too! My 14-month old ate and ate and ate it at dinner tonight. As an added bonus, this was very easy to make. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States