Cheesy Ranch Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This potatoes were great, however, I should have heeded the other reviews regarding the butter amount. I really think you can get away with just buttering your cassarole. I ended up pouring out lots of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I used about 5-6 lbs of both red and russet potatoes. I also used the full amount of butter and I didn't find it to be too much (like other's mention). It seemed like a lot of it absorbed into the potatoes. I didn't put in any salt, and i'm glad! The ranch dressing has enough flavoring where you don't need to add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.blanke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was good, but I should have listened to other reviews that said omit the butter. I used only 3TBS of butter thinking it wouldn't be too greasy, but I was wrong. There was a lake of grease in the bottom of the pan, and my potatoes wouldn't even stay in place on my plate because of the grease. it slid around in one giant greasy lump. Next time I will definitely leave out the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Really enjoyed, but then I love potatoes. Should have read a few reviews first...did not need as much butter, if any, as others have mentioned. If you use a little Pam before, should keep them from sticking, and when you add the ranch and cheese, it will keep them creamy enough to not stick. Taste is great, especially if you like Ranch and cheese, of course. Not sure if the chili powder offered anything, or maybe it wasn't enough. Next time will add further spices to perk it up more. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was awesome! I lowered the fat -- I completely left off the butter, and was so glad I did. I used 4 cubed russet potatoes, spritzed with olive oil, sprinkled with chili powder, salt & pepper (I didn't measure), and baked only 35 minutes. I then stirred in 3/4 cup light Ranch, and 1 cup reduced fat cheese. Loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
VERY VERY GOOD!!! Everybody loved it..... I put a whole stick of butter though and added a little more cheese...... just cause I know my family....LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Let me just start this off by saying this...AMAZING!!! Hands down the best potato dish I have ever had. I made a few changes to accommodate what I had on hand. I used yukon gold potatoes. I sprinkled them with chili powder and season salt. Next, after the potatoes were done cooking for an hour I added homemade ranch dressing. I only had about 1/2 a cup of dressing so I added milk to that to make it go further. I then only had monterey jack cheese so I added that to the potatoes. Talk about amazing!!! This was a hit with my husband and my 5 year old son! Definitely will be keeping this in my arsenal of favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this differently. I made whipped potatoes and then mixed 1 cup of cheese in with the chili powder into the potatoes. I baked for 1/2 hour covered. Then mixed 3/4 cup of ranch and 1 cup of cheese together and topped the potatoes. Cooked for about 15 minutes (or until well browned) Stirred everything together after it was done. Perfect for a person who just had their tonsils out. Also wonderful without the chili powder. This is great for people who are allergic to pepper. Same wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This had lots of flavor with the addition of some chopped onion and a little garlic. I used a drizzle of olive oil, instead of the butter to cut the fat and used 1/2 of the Ranch dressing and 1/2 of the cheese. Really good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Everyone said that they liked the potatoes. I halfed the recipe since I didn't want lots of left overs but somehow put the whole 8 oz of cheese so the cheese was a bit to much. I will definetly keep this in my menu rotation. Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States