Cheesy Ranch Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Had some potatoes to use so i thought i would try these. My oven does cook hot so i set timer for 45. Did check them at 30 mins and they were mush. So think i will make mashed potatoes with them if itry again i will not cover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Loved it! My family devoured this dish. Only changes I made was I used Lite Peppercorn Ranch, cause that is what I had on hand & used less butter. Will make this again, and recommend to anyone thinking about trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
These are amazing! Made them just like says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamgoofy21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Taste was good...however was extremely greasy even with omitting the butter....will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I omitted the butter as many other reviews suggested and found it too dry. I put in about 4 Tbsp butter while mixing in the ranch and the cheese to get the texture I wanted. I then put it in a crock pot on warm so that I could take it to the in-laws for dinner, and I dont know if the crock pot contributed to the dryness, but by the time we ate it, it wasnt creamy anymore. Also, the warm ranch dressing flavor was slightly odd. Still tasty, but I will go back to cheese hashbrown casserole for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This simple potato dish turned out way better than I had hoped. I'm choosey about my Ranch dressing, so I picked the brand I like best: O'Charley's. I did use the entire 16 oz. of the dressing in the casserole and I'm glad I did. It was rich and creamy mixed in with the melted cheese. Thanks for this great side dish that my husband and I really enjoyed! Oh, and I didn't think the butter made the dish greasy, although the creaminess of the melted cheese and dressing would probably mean you could leave it out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Probably not the most healthy side dish I could make, but my kids will eat it so I will cut waaay back on the butter and use a good homemade dressing. It was delicious. I topped with Panko breadcrumbs just to get it a little crunch (because my son like it.). Excellent recipe. I will probably add in some of the Oscar Meyer bacon pieces next time and shred in a little onion (because my son likes the taste, but not the texture.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I actually used Yukon Gold potatoes as I thought they would be a bit creamier. I seasoned the potatoes with some salt, added the chili powder and baked them in the oven the night before. I did leave out the butter, so many reviews seem to say leave it out or cut it back. I doubled the cheese/ranch dressing as I actually used 5 pounds of potatoes and many reviewers said, increase the amount. I added some garlic powder and minced onion. I only used half the cheese/ranch mixture to marinate the dish overnight and then to bake it the next day. I added some bacon bits before I baked. I agree with many reviewers, even though I salted the potatoes, used minced onion, bacon bits, and some garlic powder there is just something missing. You wouldn't think these would taste "flat" but they really did. Hmmm, maybe it needs a stronger cheese, but one that melts smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was a tasty potato dish and a nice change from regular au gratin potatoes. I halved the recipe and used 1/2 packet of ranch seasoning mixed with 1/2 cup buttermilk. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I agree with others - this does not need all the butter. I used 4 tbsp and next time will use even less. The chili is a nice touch! Pretty good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States