Cheesy Ranch Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
this works best if you put into a large paper bag and vigorously shake before heating. It helps distribute and remove excess oil. I used chow mein noodles and just what I had on hand to equal the amt. of dry mix. good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I read all the reviews and thought this sounded SO delicious. This was simply not good. I followed the recipe exactly, used 1/2 rice chex and 1/2 corn chex. I also used 1/2 pretzel sticks and 1/2 pretzel twists. I think it was the parmesan cheese that gave it such a funky flavor. I would not recommend this recipe, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made this to munch on during the football games this past Sunday. Everyone loved it so much I had to make a second batch during half time. My kids have asked that I put some in their school lunches as snack. I'm going to add some whole almonds to the mix so to add some additional 'brain food.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Buy slow cooker liners so you can add all ingredients and shake to mix. (Even the large Ziploc bags aren't big enough to hold all the snacks in this recipe). SO much easier than stirring ingredients in a bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ireland

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I tried this a couple of times. The ranch mix really didn't distribute too well. I prefer the original Chex Mix--still my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a good recipe,but I tweaked it a little since I am a cajun from louisiana. Instead of butter I used olive oil just enough to give the mix a glossy shine.Also omit the microwave a wax paper step.I also added granulated garlic and little dry dill.I also added cayenne pepper to give it just a little kick.Omit the parm cheese it kind of throws it off.Those that have trouble getting it mix add the dry ingredients a little at a time to mix evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAudirsch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmerville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I used the ingredients called for plus some mixed nuts, drizzled the butter a little at a time and stirred, then put about a third in a large paper bag, added 1/3 of seasoning, another 1/3 mix, 1/3 seasoning...you get it...and shook it all up (but not too vigorously or it turns to dust!). If you don't just dump the seasoning in, it shouldn't clump on you. Overall, I'm happy with the results but I think next time I will up the seasoning to 1 1/2 or 2 packets. Oh, I also left out the parmesan since I'm not serving it until next week and I don't want to take a chance on it going bad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
It's not too bad, it quenches the savory fiend in me. I did a half and half mixture with pretzel sticks and twists. As suggested, mix it in a large paper bag, as the ranch tends not to mix very well with the cheese and you get clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipes is always a hit at my house. I use Hot and Spicy Cheez It for some add zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boaz, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was excellent and was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Kale vs. Potato Chips on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes compare chips (and more!) on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States