Cheesy Ranch Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is a nice change from normal chex mix. I used 3 cups each of rice, corn, and wheat chex. I also used pretzel rods as that's what I had on hand and then I used 3 cups of chedder goldfish! The only other things I changed was I melted the butter mixed in the Ranch seasoning poured that over tossed together then tossed in some parmesan cheese and baked it at 250 for a hour stirring every 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Pretty good and so easy. My kids love it! I use a mixture of corn Chex, wheat Chex, and Cheerios. I didn't add the cheese as I wasn't sure if I would like it in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
LOVE this snack mix, but it is impossible to quit eating! Instead of regular ranch mix, I use the southwest ranch mix. It gives it a little kick. I have also made it with original ranch, but added chili powder and cumin. I usually add a handful or 2 of peanuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I used pretzel nuggets, Goldfish crackers and I used vegetable oil instead of butter. I also made my own ranch dressing mix from my own recipe. I've always made Chex Mix in the oven. 250 degrees for an hour, stirring every fifteen minutes is just right. This turned out really well though I think it needs a bit more butter to make everything stick, seems to me I saw a lot of the spice and cheese sitting at the bottom of the pan. You expect that with Chex Mix but this was more than usual. Next time, I'll switch to using vegetable oil and increase the amount and see if that dosen't work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
It was just "eh." Nothing too exciting. I've made many different varieties of chex mix and this one left a little to be desired. I made it with and without the parmesan cheese and prefer it without. It's easy to make if you're in a hurry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great idea, but needs more flavor. Maybe more ranch? Did work out very well as far as procedure. UPDATE: baked in oven this time at 250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Turned out much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
LOVED this recipe! Make sure you use a really big bowl, and stir carefully. It's also good to measure out all dry ingredients first & have that ready when you take the melted butter out of the microwave, so that you can stir it in right away & the butter doesn't have any time to harden back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
While I love the original Chex Mix recipe - I love this one even more. Add mixed nuts/peanuts, prezels or whatever you want. Absolutely awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great alternative to the regular chex mix! A lot of the seasoning sunk down to the bottom but I just made sure to pour it over the top when cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I love this mix! Great stater recipe to teach my 9 yo cooking. I half the ranch mix because it's too salty for us as written. Hence the 4*'s. We also omit the parm out of taste preference. We use generic chex and what ever grain (corn, wheat, etc) we have on hand. There are partial boxes left that do not equate to a whole recipe worth, so we need another box to make more after the initial batch. No problem considering we like it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States