Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was super yummy! I used pine nuts and regular crumbled goat cheese when I made it, and used less olive oil (about 1.5 TBS), and more spinach (about 1 cup). I will however next time making this use less cheese as I thought it was too rich and somewhat over powering the other flavors. Also, to make the prep easier with the quinoa, just add 1/2 cup water to the 1/4 cup quinoa, bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for 15mins. This way, the liquid absorbs on its own, and you don't have to drain it if you don't have a fine mesh strainer, much easier and quicker to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Oh my gosh! If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would! This is my new favorite quinoa recipe. Just a note, this recipe is for ONE serving. I QUADRUPLED it to make about 4 – 5 servings. I use pre-rinsed quinoa, so I followed the cooking directions on the box for 1 cup (dry) of quinoa. I used pine nuts (which I’m crazy about) and parmesan cheese. Next time I will add the nuts with the garlic and cook for only 2 minutes because I was afraid of the nuts getting too brown. I did not quadruple the olive oil and lemon juice, though. I still used only 3 Tbsp. olive oil and about 1 Tbsp. lemon juice. And I used 2 large garlic cloves. Thank you, thank you for this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
What a great recipe! So easy to make and very nutritious. I used parmesan cheese and served with grilled halibut and steamed brocoli, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
TEN STARS!! This recipe could easily be served in a fine dining restaurant! I doubled the recipe for hubby and I and it's a very generous serving each. Such simple ingredients turn into an amazing dish that I would eat as a main course not just a side dish. I used half the olive oil and half the cheese called for (grated parmesan romano blend) to save quite a few calories and still get the same flavor. Because I cut out half of the salty cheese, I ground sea salt and fresh pepper to add just before I mixed in the spinach. Do Not leave out the lemon juice! It really sets of the flavors of this dish. Also, I used pine nuts since so many people recommended it and I'm so happy I did. I could eat this once a week for years to come and hubby agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Such a great, easy recipe! It definitely has a nice nutty flavor that would go great w/fish. My husband thought it was perfect just by itself. I tripled the serving b/c I have a big family & it worked well for us, no leftovers. I only doubled the olive oil & cheese though. Im excited to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Amazing recipe, I already plan to make it again soon! How could you go wrong with quinoa, spinach and cheese? I used pine nuts instead of sunflower seeds. To be honest, I don't know if I would have liked it that much if i had used seeds. Then again, I'm nuts on pine nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very easy and healthy! I used frozen spinach and red pre-washed quinoa. I steamed the quinoa, so I didn't have to rinse and drain it after. I also added some sesame seeds, walnuts, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Great recipe, I've been looking for a good quinoa recipe for a while and I made this after yoga class tonight and it was quick, easy and just what I needed. I used a mix of sunflower, pumpkin and sesame seeds which added some extra crunch and used parmesan instead of the gouda and it worked out great. I also used pak choi (Chinese spinach) as the store was out of normal spinach and I think next time I might add a few baby or sundried tomatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this tonight for dinner and we loved it!! It was fast and also nice and easy. I used shredded Parmesan and that worked fine, but I'd be curious to try it with the gouda. The toasted sunflower seeds was a scrumptious and unexpected touch that added a delicious crunch. The cheese made things nice and creamy. I highly recommend at least doubling the recipe to get enough. I will definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by makeiteasy4me
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was ok. We couldn't taste the garlic, spinach, or cheese....just the quinoa. I'll try it again but with more garlic and cheese. It has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States