Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I doubled the spinach so it was more spinach that Quinoa but that was still ok. Didn't have nuts so didn't use them but this still tuned out great. Wonderful healthy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good and very easy. Here are some substitutions which I also find work wonderfully, depending on what I have on hand any given day: toasted pine nuts for the sunflower seeds; regular goat cheese and grated monterey jack for the goat gouda; and couscous for the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
A really nice side. We didn't have the goat cheese so used pepper-jack instead. We also didn't have the lemon juice so I ended up having to use some balsamic vinegar, some Greek seasoning and pepper. I also added some red pepper flakes, which made all the difference for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was excellent. The flavors were a perfect blend, nothing overpowered the dish. I substituted pine nuts for sunflower seeds, and otherwise just seasoned with salt and pepper. Delicious, light and filling dish. I quadrupled the recipe to make 4 servings. Some idiot said it was 700 calories; that is for 11.5 c yield. I did the math, it's a little over 200 cal/serving. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deavis13
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I love this recipe and it's fairly simple to make! Very tasty. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was super yummy! I used pine nuts and regular crumbled goat cheese when I made it, and used less olive oil (about 1.5 TBS), and more spinach (about 1 cup). I will however next time making this use less cheese as I thought it was too rich and somewhat over powering the other flavors. Also, to make the prep easier with the quinoa, just add 1/2 cup water to the 1/4 cup quinoa, bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for 15mins. This way, the liquid absorbs on its own, and you don't have to drain it if you don't have a fine mesh strainer, much easier and quicker to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Really tasty. I had pine nuts and they tasted so rich after being toasted in the olive oil. I also only had parmesan and it was good, but next time I will try the gouda to have a really special flavor. This stood alone as a fantastic main dish as the quinoa is very filling and full of protein. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was the first time I made any recipe with quinoa. I have to say it was a HIT!. My husband loved it. I think I wil try it with less cheese more spinich and pine nuts the next time. For sure a keeper! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
easy, nutritious, and delicious! this dish is so simple yet so tasty and filling. it seems like you can make substitutions where youd like - i subbed grated parmigiano cheese for the gouda, added some chopped fresh onions at the garlic simmering stage, and just about doubled the spinach. i also used approx the recommended amount of olive oil but used about 3/4 as directed in the beginning and saved the rest to drizzle on top of the spinach and quinoa once i mixed it in. seriously great, and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States