Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Really good. I also used pine nuts (which I love) and a little crumbled goat cheese on top instead of mixing it in, in order to keep it healthier. I also used frozen spinach which I defrosted prior to using in the recipe. Serve with extra lemon wedges to squeeze over top. Would make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I bucked my usual trend and made this recipe for the first time almost exactly as written. Regular gouda because I couldn't find goat gouda, and I added onion in with the garlic step. I also couldn't find raw sunflower seeds (life is hard at the ghetto grocery store), so I tossed the roasted ones in as the garlic and onion were finishing. I tripled the recipe, three of us ate it as a light meal, and I had two good sized servings left. We all were extremely pleased with the flavor, and I definitely will be making this again. A 5 oz. package of fresh baby spinach was just perfect for the triple recipe. Interestingly, I liked the flavor just as much when I sampled it cold as I was putting it away. I'm taking it for lunch tomorrow, and I'm going to try eating it without reheating to see how it is. If it works as a leftover at room temperature, I'll have to bump my 5 stars up to 10! Thanks very much for posting this recipe. I needed a fresh take on quinoa; I was tired of the several recipes I've been using for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Oh my gosh! If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would! This is my new favorite quinoa recipe. Just a note, this recipe is for ONE serving. I QUADRUPLED it to make about 4 – 5 servings. I use pre-rinsed quinoa, so I followed the cooking directions on the box for 1 cup (dry) of quinoa. I used pine nuts (which I’m crazy about) and parmesan cheese. Next time I will add the nuts with the garlic and cook for only 2 minutes because I was afraid of the nuts getting too brown. I did not quadruple the olive oil and lemon juice, though. I still used only 3 Tbsp. olive oil and about 1 Tbsp. lemon juice. And I used 2 large garlic cloves. Thank you, thank you for this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Delicious! I added more spinach and I used pine nuts instead of sunflower seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was delicious. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wow!. I was just expecting an average quinoa side dish but this is amazing! I had to do couple changes due to what I had in the fridge (chopped pistachios instead of sunflower seeds and feta instead of goat cheese)I will love to try parmesan, but I'm sure the original recipe is just as good! Thanks for sharing your recipe alliecat3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Excellent recipe! We used sunflower seeds as instructed (rather than pine nuts as many have suggested) and grated parmesan with fantastic results. Also, we quadrupled the recipe (to make 4 servings) and added 1 lb baked chicken breast slices (spiced with rosemary, salt, pepper). We are always looking for delicious, healthy, and simple recipes, and this one will definitely be added prominently to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very yummy! Even my 2 year old loved it! Left out the nuts, added some minced onion with the garlic and only doubled the recipe. Wanted to make more, but I was out of quinoa. Might try it with brown rice, either way it's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
mmm delicious. I did make a few changes though. I tripled the spinach and tore it before cooking, doubled the garlic and used feta instead of gouda since that's what I had. The flavours went together soooo well! Note that this recipe only makes about one meal sized serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was Ok, I won't make it again. Too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States