Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have made this for lunch for myself three days running. It is absolutely delicious. It's filling and satisfying AND nutritious. I can't wait to try different cheeses with it. I've been eating it as a vegetarian main course, with a little more spinach and a side of haricot vert. I seriously can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
One of my favorite weeknight recipes for a filling, healthy and easy side dish. I've tried a few combinations as other reviewers have suggested... My favorite is sunflower seeds and parmigiana cheese. I always use a little extra spinach as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This had a great flavour. I sautéd a minced shallot with the garlic, used pine nuts instead of sunflower seeds and feta because I love it with the spinach and lemon. I was disappointed that it didn't have the pilaf texture I expected. Next time I think I'll use traditional pilaf technique to get a better separation of grains/seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was delicious. I used pine nuts rather than sunflower seeds, following others' recommendation. I also added some brocoli and had it as a main course. Will try it with fish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Make sure you toast the sesame seeds sufficiently -- they will be very nutty tasting then. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
After reading other's reviews, I tripled the recipe and am glad I did as it would not have been near enough to satisfy my appetite (this was my entire dinner). I was out of sunflower seeds, so I used slivered almonds and Parmesan cheese was all I had on hand. It was fantastic! I've fixed quinoa many different ways and this is definitely one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
We loved this recipe! Tried it with crumbled goat cheese, pine nuts and fresh lemon. My husband took leftovers to work for lunch. He called and asked if I can make it again for dinner tonight. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I thought this was surprisingly delicious. I'm not fond of cheesy vegetarian dishes, and this was tasty without being heavy. My children both pronounced it as "disgusting" (as they usually do), but once they tasted it gave it two thumbs up. Used parmesan cheese and pine nuts because that is what I had. In my recipe box to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made the quinoa in chicken stock and sub'd in feta and pine nuts, since I didn't have the others on hand. Tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This recipe has lots of my favorite things and I was a little disappointed. I felt it was a little too greasy, so I would reduce the amount of oil next time. My sunflower seeds and garlic turned out too brown and I couldn't taste the garlic even though I used twice as much as called for (I love garlic). I used regular goat cheese and it was creamy and tasted great with the quinoa. I'll try it again, but modify the recipe just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States