Cheesy Quiche Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was an amazing crust. The secret to it is the butter. I used a shredded parmesan cheese to add to the crust and it was simply amazing! I agree with Zedar....there isn't enough crust. I used Pampered Chef deep dish pans and it was really close. If you're expecting to made a beautiful fluted shell, it's not going to happen the way the recipe is presently. I will add 1/4 cup more flour, 2 more tablespoon of butter and enough water for it to get it to a ball stage. The taste and flakiness complimented the spinach quiche and ham quiche that I made this evening for dinner. Both crust turned golden brown, and I didn't prebake the crust. I will use this recipe again as I experiment with some different quiche recipes that I am trying out on my family. Thanks for sharing Joanna! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This came together quickly in my Kitchen Aid mixer, I just cut the butter into bitty pieces before adding to the flour. I used this for a bottom crust for a homemade pot pie, using garlic mashed potatoes as a top crust. Turned out great. Next time, I'll not wait until the last minute and make the pie dough in the morning. The longer this crust sits in the fridge, the less likely it is to warm under hot hands. Great recipe! This crust is so flaky and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
THANK YOU for this recipe!! This is my new secret weapon when making quiches. My other secret weapon is sticking to Julia Child's recipe for quiche! I've made this twice now, and once I used havarti instead of cheddar, as that's what I had on hand. The havarti gave the crust a lovely, delicate taste, but beware: Since havarti has a high moisture content, you don't need as much water. Also, here's a tip for everyone: If you freeze the butter briefly (maybe 10 minutes or so, no longer!) before cutting into small pieces, it makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelingGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Much tastier than plain flour/shortening crust. I needed to add a few extra TBSP flour, but flour amounts always vary to some degree anyway. I also like to add about a tsp total of dried herb combinations (basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme) to get a cheese/herb crust. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
this came out really nice especially for my very first homemade crust. i only had 4 tbsp butter, so i supplemented it with oil. it came out great - light and cheesy - perfect complement to the custard i used for my quiche! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothertameka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Flaky and rich from the cheese. I was a bit leary of the amount of flour--it's not enough compared to other quiche pastry recipes, but it does work. I did add a bit more flour than called for so I could get all the butter mixed in. It definitely needs cooled before rolling out. I was impatient, so I put in the freezer for a while instead of letting cool in the fridge. I had more than enough crust for one quiche--maybe those who have had too little have larger pans? I used my regular quiche pan for this, and a regular sized pie pan would've been fine as well. I used this with the Salsa Sausage Quiche recipe on here. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Thank you for this wonderful recipe, i made the crust following these directions but made tiny quiche tarts instead. It turned out a little over 24 mini ham,bacon,spinach, and swiss cheese quiche. I've made them a few times, friends and family are dying for the recipe. Very tasty- great results. ** if you are a health nut this is not the quiche crust for you. It was a little greasy but no one complained. My 88 yr. old grandmother ate about 3 or 4 of these mini quiche- and she's a picky eater... lol and then there is my 37 yr old cousin who hate vegetables but tried them despite the spinach content. :-) Have fun with this recipe everyone its certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is a wonderful piecrust! I made a double batch so I can use the second crust for a chicken pot pie in a day or two. It bakes golden and light, and tastes like a cheese cracker. I used my broccoli-mushroom-onion-bacon-cheddar recipe, using evaporated milk instead of regular. This is the best quiche I've ever made! I started to bake the unfilled crust as the directions said, but saw it was shrinking. So I removed it from the oven and stretched it back into shape, filled it with the quiche mixture, and baked it. It came out so good! I recommend that instead of pre-baking this crust you just fill it and bake all at once. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I used this crust on top of a vegetable pot pie, and it worked out great! Wonderful flavor and texture. The pie baked for 40 minutes at 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I recently started cooking, but I must say the quiche crust I made following this recepie it was great! it was melting on everybodys tongue. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States