Cheesy Quiche Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My crust came out a bit crunchy where there was a cheddar chunk, but it may be because I used a hard cheddar. Otherwise, it was a great success! It was very tasty and complimented the quiche...I used the "Spinach-Quiche" recipe as my custard and the combination was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I recently started cooking, but I must say the quiche crust I made following this recepie it was great! it was melting on everybodys tongue. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This came together quickly in my Kitchen Aid mixer, I just cut the butter into bitty pieces before adding to the flour. I used this for a bottom crust for a homemade pot pie, using garlic mashed potatoes as a top crust. Turned out great. Next time, I'll not wait until the last minute and make the pie dough in the morning. The longer this crust sits in the fridge, the less likely it is to warm under hot hands. Great recipe! This crust is so flaky and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I was worried this would not work out, but it was wonderful for the quiche I made (Spinach and Carrot Quiche SUBMITTED BY: CRISTEN1 ). I was unclear on what breadcrumbs look like, I had to roll it between two pieces of Saran wrap to prevent the dough from sticking to the pin (maybe it wasn't chilled enough) and it wasn't enough dough to cover the sides of my pan. Nevertheless, my quiche was great and improved by the crust on the bottom. Why buy frozen when this recipe is so easy and cheap?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was an amazing crust. The secret to it is the butter. I used a shredded parmesan cheese to add to the crust and it was simply amazing! I agree with Zedar....there isn't enough crust. I used Pampered Chef deep dish pans and it was really close. If you're expecting to made a beautiful fluted shell, it's not going to happen the way the recipe is presently. I will add 1/4 cup more flour, 2 more tablespoon of butter and enough water for it to get it to a ball stage. The taste and flakiness complimented the spinach quiche and ham quiche that I made this evening for dinner. Both crust turned golden brown, and I didn't prebake the crust. I will use this recipe again as I experiment with some different quiche recipes that I am trying out on my family. Thanks for sharing Joanna! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGIRLEJFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent. It came out perfect and was so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Thank you for this wonderful recipe, i made the crust following these directions but made tiny quiche tarts instead. It turned out a little over 24 mini ham,bacon,spinach, and swiss cheese quiche. I've made them a few times, friends and family are dying for the recipe. Very tasty- great results. ** if you are a health nut this is not the quiche crust for you. It was a little greasy but no one complained. My 88 yr. old grandmother ate about 3 or 4 of these mini quiche- and she's a picky eater... lol and then there is my 37 yr old cousin who hate vegetables but tried them despite the spinach content. :-) Have fun with this recipe everyone its certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very easy to make, and tastes great. Nice and flaky. I used this for a qucihe and it was great. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Flaky and rich from the cheese. I was a bit leary of the amount of flour--it's not enough compared to other quiche pastry recipes, but it does work. I did add a bit more flour than called for so I could get all the butter mixed in. It definitely needs cooled before rolling out. I was impatient, so I put in the freezer for a while instead of letting cool in the fridge. I had more than enough crust for one quiche--maybe those who have had too little have larger pans? I used my regular quiche pan for this, and a regular sized pie pan would've been fine as well. I used this with the Salsa Sausage Quiche recipe on here. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
THANK YOU for this recipe!! This is my new secret weapon when making quiches. My other secret weapon is sticking to Julia Child's recipe for quiche! I've made this twice now, and once I used havarti instead of cheddar, as that's what I had on hand. The havarti gave the crust a lovely, delicate taste, but beware: Since havarti has a high moisture content, you don't need as much water. Also, here's a tip for everyone: If you freeze the butter briefly (maybe 10 minutes or so, no longer!) before cutting into small pieces, it makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelingGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States