Cheesy Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
One of my familys favorites. This reciepe has been in my family for years too, only we crumble cornfalkes really small and put them on top, then melt about a half stick of butter and pour it over the whole thing. It never turns out soupy, maybe those who said it did, added milk to the soup? It does need a short setting time of about 10 minutes, but it should turn out perfect! Try O'brien potatoes for some extra zest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I have seen several versions of this recipe over the years calling for all types of soup and usually cheddar cheese. This was the first time I had made with processed cheese. I will stick with the cheddar. Also, you only need about 1/2 that amount of sour cream usually. I always add a little milk during cooking if too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This a great recipe just the way it is. After making it a few times as Adel submitted it, I started tweaking. I make it with just the potatoes, sour cream, and cream of chicken soup, along with black pepper and garlic powder and serve it all the time as a side with beef, chicken, or pork. I also make the original recipe with cream of potato soup (instead of chicken) and add chunked ham. It's awesome!! Thanks Adel. (I always leave off the butter. It's just not needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This recipe has been in my family for years. However, I suggest that you crumble Ritz cracker over the top and sprinkle butter on the crackers before you put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These are the best cheesy potatoes! I use this recipe for all large get togethers and get raves every time. I would set out the frozen potatoes for a while to defrost a little bit to cut down on the cooking time. Great Potatoes Here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Everyone goes back for seconds....and thirds....there's never any leftovers when this is served. Goes good with almost anything - briskit, chicken, turkey. Great fool proof recipe, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
I made this recipe and it was super easy for a fast side dish. I doubled the recipe and i had great leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
My husband and I liked these. I used O'Brien potatoes since that is what I had in my freezer and I only used 1/2 of the sour cream called for and they still turned out a little too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I loved these potatoes! It reminded me of macaroni and cheese, they came out fluffy, cheesy and very good! You must use all ingredients to come out with the right recipe. A great new side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I thought these were delicious. I cut up an onion and added that and I accidentally bought cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken, but still the potatoes were delicious. They were a little "soupy" but I may have not added enough hash browns. The leftovers were just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States