Cheesy Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My family really liked these. The only thing lacking was some kind of crunch (a topping maybe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very delicious! The only change I made was using 32 ounces of hash browns instead of the 16 ounces the recipe calls for. I used hashbrowns with onions and peppers already in then to give it a bit more flavor like some of the other reviewers suggested. Also I put shredded cheese on top of the hashbrowns. I used a lot more butter than 1 tablespoon! I put about 1 stick of butter on top of the shredded cheese, then put on the cubes of cheese(I used about 10 1/2 ounces of processed cheese). Then I put crumbled up corn flakes on top and then about 1/2 a stick of butter on top of that. The only other altercation I made was I used a bit of garlic powder, salt, and pepper but not much! It turned out fantastic!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent side dish for ham, but am i the only one that thinks 16oz of potatoes is way off? I used 32oz of potatoes, leaving the rest of the recipe portions alone. I also used light sour cream and added some diced onion, dash of salt, and pepper. Add crushed corn flakes sprinkled with butter for additional appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigander033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were pretty ok for a morning banquet. I also halved the sourcream and was happy with the cheese:cream taste ratio. Def. added more potatoes for same amt of cheese. Didn't need the butter though I buttered the bottom of the pan instead. I added powedered garlic & minced onions for flavor & chopped bkfst sausages. I layered the soup mix over the pots then put cheese on top. This was ok but it remained layered & I think I should have mixed the soup w/the pots as the recipe says to. I used mostly thawed pots & still cooked for nearly the whole time. Only spots of the top browned but it remained creamy in the middle more than the outside, maybe because I didn't mix. Dried up a little before serving. I would use these for a morning banquet again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Yum!! Just make sure you cook it much longer if you are using frozen potatoes. Also, 16 oz of potatoes isn't enough. Used the 32 oz. bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I've been looking for a base recipe I can tweak to make my own, and one that will compete with my sisters'. This one has potential. The modifications I started with were to puchase the frozen diced potatoes that have onion and pepper in them for flavor. I substituted Cream of Celery soup as well. I used 1/2 processed cheese and 1/2 shredded cheddar. Reduced the sour cream by 1/2, and took another reviewers suggestion to crumble corn flakes on top. I found the cooking time a 30 minutes left the potatoes a bit too hard for my husbands liking. I happen to like them with a little hardness left in them. Next time I'll try cooking them 45 minutes. I may also try seasoned shredded potatoes. They may hold the mixture together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Nice, easy recipe. I used fat free soup, cheese, and sour cream, and didn't add the butter per some of the other reviews, and I added garlic, garlic powder, and a touch of oregano. Mine was not nearly as good as others I've had, but it was due to the low fat ingredients so I'm still giving the recipe a good rating. Next time I want to try with the potatoes O'Brien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was so good! My grandma used to make something similar. After supper was over, I went and got a bowl for a snack! Good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My husband thought these were the best potatoes EVER. I thought they were quite good, and I will try them again with cream of potato soup for a variation in flavor. I used cheddar cheese since that is a favorite in our family. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Try replacing the sour cream with french onion dip and use 16 ounces of shredded cheddar cheese and mix it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States