Cheesy Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This a great recipe just the way it is. After making it a few times as Adel submitted it, I started tweaking. I make it with just the potatoes, sour cream, and cream of chicken soup, along with black pepper and garlic powder and serve it all the time as a side with beef, chicken, or pork. I also make the original recipe with cream of potato soup (instead of chicken) and add chunked ham. It's awesome!! Thanks Adel. (I always leave off the butter. It's just not needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This was a great dish, everyone loved it. I did use a 32oz. bag of potatoes, added 2 t. salt, 2 t. white pepper and 2t. granulated onion - and baked it for 50 minutes. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Even though I used fresh potatoes shredded, it still wasn't cheesy enough until I put more cheese myself. Good flavor, but, I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I thought these were very good. I used light sour cream, reduced fat Velveeta and cream of celery instead of chicken. I also topped the dish with paprika and cornflake crumbs. Very tasty, and not rich and heavy like potato casseroles normally are. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Always a good potluck dish. I've also made it with cream of celery soup for a vegetarian dish...I think I might like it even better than the cream of chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I have seen several versions of this recipe over the years calling for all types of soup and usually cheddar cheese. This was the first time I had made with processed cheese. I will stick with the cheddar. Also, you only need about 1/2 that amount of sour cream usually. I always add a little milk during cooking if too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
My husband and I liked these. I used O'Brien potatoes since that is what I had in my freezer and I only used 1/2 of the sour cream called for and they still turned out a little too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This is recipe is fast and easy. Too much sour cream for my liking, but everyone else loved'em! At first I thought that they were going too be soupy, but after you let them cool for awhile the thicken up. Great recipe!! Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I, too, found this to be "mushy". It was very cheesy, though. I suppose a good side dish for children, but not special enough for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Everyone goes back for seconds....and thirds....there's never any leftovers when this is served. Goes good with almost anything - briskit, chicken, turkey. Great fool proof recipe, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States