Cheesy Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
These were very good. My husband loved them as he is a big fan of scalloped potatoes and this version is much easier than making the cream sauce by hand and then adding the cheese. I halved the recipe and used 1/2 colby-jack, 1/2 processed cheese and added flour to the milk before pouring it into the dish and it was yummy. I also added a little paprika with the salt and pepper for each layer. It won't have the same smooth texture as it does if you make the sauce separate from scratch, but the key is to keep stirring this as it bakes. I also have a mandolin so slicing the potatoes is a snap and it didn't take me long to put this together. Great time saving recipe if you are craving home made scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This is pretty good. I think there is way too much butter. It just pooled around, and made it greasy. I had to soak it up with a napkin. Also, I didn't know how thin to slice the potatoes, so I did some thin, and some not-so-thin. The not-so-thin ones weren't quite done, so I recommend cutting them thin, but not like paper-thin. It makes a lot, so if there are only a couple of you, I would cut the recipe in half unless you want leftovers. Overall, not bad. May or may not make it again. It's worth a try. My husband and the guys liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Very tasty and the ooey goey cheese made this a good comfort food. Also, plenty of room for alterations to your tastes. We have added sauted green bell peppers (chopped) and some minced garlic but you can add the "extras" that you and your family enjoy most with cheese and potatoes (or just prepare as is). However, we noticed we did not need to cook as long as recipe recommends, even with the extra ingrediants...perhaps we used thinner potato slices? Either way, have made again and will continue into the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
These were good, I might alter the recipe alittle next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This recipe was easy to make. However, after reading previous ratings I substituted 1/2 the velveta with sharp cheddar, added 1 T. of flour to the milk and doubled the cooking time. Everyone loved them and I was asked for the recipe! I would definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
The onions gave the dish a very nice flavor but I'd use a different cheese next time, maybe mild cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
My family enjoyed this version of scalloped potatoes. I used a few extra potatoes and a touch more milk and baked it 15 minutes longer. It was really good. Next time I'm going to try a variety of cheeses and maybe some garlic. Thanks Holly - from my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
The best scalloped potatoes that I've ever tasted. My husband LOVED them. A keeper recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
I added 4 gloves of garlic for an extra kick! What a great dish! Will definitely make again with guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Tasted pretty good, but I wasn't thrilled with the way the cheese melted. It didn't look that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States